⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

The Complete History of the WWE Championship - Part 15

Paul Benson
Top 5 / Top 10
Published 28 Sep 2019, 16:06 IST
28 Sep 2019, 16:06 IST

John Cena (September 13, 2009 - October 4, 2009)

John Cena: Regained the gold from Randy Orton at Breaking Point
John Cena: Regained the gold from Randy Orton at Breaking Point

John Cena won his fourth WWE Championship from Randy Orton at Breaking Point on September 13, 2009.

It was a gripping battle between the pair who had feuded on and off since 2007. However, this title change was far from the end of their rivalry.

Cena defended the title versus Orton inside Hell in a Cell at the inaugural HIAC pay per view event on October 4, 2009.

Theirs was the second of three Hell in a Cell bouts on the same card. That was two too many and what was once a feud ending gimmick felt shoehorned into the Cena/Orton conflict before it was time. Their title encounter was lacklustre and the cell, in the PG era that began in August 2008 was not utilised very often in the bout.

Despite the lack of violence or bloodshed, there was a title change. Orton punted Cena in the head to win his fifth WWE Championship.

Cena's reign was over after just three weeks. However, Cena would receive a re-match with Orton just a few weeks later in an Iron Man match.

Modified 21 Dec 2019, 00:21 IST
Fetching more content...