⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

3 lesser known facts about ICC Cricket World Cup 

Top 5 / Top 10

Ireland hold a unique record in the Cricket World Cup
Ireland hold a unique record in the Cricket World Cup

ICC Cricket World Cup, the grandest spectacle of world cricket, is currently in its 12th edition as the fans wait in anticipation to know which team will be crowned champions. England, Australia and India enter as favorites to win the World Cup while West Indies are being hailed as dark horses.

The International Cricket Council initiated this mega-event in the year 1975. West Indies won the first 2 World Cups without losing a single match before team India ended their reign at the top in 1983. The Asian countries established themselves as the world's best for some years but the Australians changed the landscape of cricket completely with their undefeated streak in the World Cups.

Australia's reign lasted for a very long time until India emerged as the 'King-slayers' once again to win the World Cup. However, it took only 4 years for the Australian team to regain their crown.

In these 11 editions of the Cricket World Cup, a lot of nations have taken part and made their presence felt. But, very few people remember the records created by them because the teams like Australia, India and Pakistan have been the focal point of the cricket fans.

Here, we will have a look at the 3 lesser known facts about the Cricket World Cup.

#3 Canada registered the lowest ever team total in a World Cup match

The scoreboard shows the Canadian total of 36
The scoreboard shows the Canadian total of 36

Often a team's best batsman has the responsibility of carrying the team on his shoulders by playing an innings of 40-50 runs in every game. However, the Canadian team reached newer lows in 2003 when all of their 11 batsmen (and extras) combined to put up a score of 36 on the board. None of the batsmen managed to reach double digits in this innings, with the team's opener DR Chumney and captain JV Harris emerging as the top scorers, aggregating 9 runs each.

The Sri Lankan bowlers showed no mercy on the minnows as Chaminda Vaas, Prabath Nissanka, Muttaih Muralitharan and Dilhara Fernando shattered the Canadian lineup in under 19 overs. Nissanka was the wrecker-in-chief of the innings, with figures of 7-1-12-4.

Sri Lanka chased down the total in just 4.4 overs as Marvan Atapattu played a whirlwind knock of 24*(14). Nissanka won the player of the match award for his brilliant bowling performance.

Also read - World cup winners

1 / 3 NEXT
Fetching more content...