World Cup Winners List and Runners-Up List

Last Modified Sep 28, 2021 18:55 IST

YearWinnersRunners UpPlayer of the SeriesHighest Run ScorerHighest Wicket TakerHost Country
2019EnglandNew ZealandKane WilliamsonRohit SharmaMitchell StarcEngland
2015AustraliaNew ZealandJames FaulknerMartin GuptillMitchell StarcAustralia & New Zealand
2011IndiaSri LankaYuvraj SinghTillakaratne DilshanZaheer Khan & Shahid AfridiBangladesh, India & Sri Lanka
2007AustraliaSri LankaAdam GilchristMatthew HaydenGlenn McgrathWest Indies
2003AustraliaIndiaRicky PontingSachin TendulkarChaminda VaasSouth Africa, Zimbabwe & Kenya
1999AustraliaPakistanShane WarneRahul DravidShane WarneEngland
1996Sri LankaAustraliaAravinda De SilvaSachin TendulkarAnil KumbleIndia, Pakistan & Sri Lanka
1992PakistanEnglandWasim AkramMartin CroweWasim AkramAustralia & New Zealand
1987AustraliaEnglandDavid BoonGraham GoochCraig McdermottIndia & Pakistan
1983IndiaWest IndiesMohinder AmarnathDavid GowerRoger BinnyEngland
1979West IndiesEnglandViv RichardsGordon GreenidgeMike HendrickEngland
1975West IndiesAustraliaClive LloydGlenn TurnerGary GilmourEngland

*Last updated July 2019

Also see – T20 World Cup Winners List

Lets check out the World Cup winners list (1975 - 2019) below :

World Cup Winners List along with Runners-up and scorecards:

2019England241New Zealand241-8England won Super Over on boundary count
2015Australia186–3New Zealand183Australia won by 7 wickets
2011India277–4Sri Lanka274–6India won by 6 wickets
2007Australia281–4Sri Lanka215–8Australia won by 53 runs
2003Australia359–2India234Australia won by 125 runs
1999Australia133–2Pakistan132Australia won by 8 wickets
1996Sri Lanka245–3Australia241Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1992Pakistan249–6England227Pakistan won by 22 runs
1987Australia253–5England246–8Australia won by 7 runs
1983India183West Indies140India won by 43 runs
1979West Indies286–9England194West Indies won by 92 runs
1975West Indies291–8Australia274West Indies won by 17 runs

The Cricket World Cup is held once in every four years. England were the Cricket World Cup winners last time. The first tournament was held in the year 1975 and the next one scheduled is in 2019 to be hosted by England. The number of overs per side were 60 in the 1975 World Cup which were reduced to 50 per side from the 1987 World Cup.

Cricket World Cup Winning Teams Records (50-Over Format):

Team NameNo. of times Champion
West Indies2
Sri Lanka1

New Zealand v England - ICC Cricket World Cup Final 2019

Australia owns the maximum number of World Cup Championship titles (5 times), hence holding the record for being the world cup winners for the most number of times and including a record three consecutive wins from 1999 to 2007, becoming the only country to ever have achieved so. In addition to winning the World Cup five times, it has twice stood at runners up position

India has won the World Cup twice, once in 1983 and later (breaking the winning streak of Australia) in 2011. Standing on an equal footing, West Indies holds record of winning the World Cup twice- the first two World Cups itself, that is, in 1975 and 1979.

Also Read : Most World Cup Wins

Financial Benefit accruing from World Cups

ICC Cricket World Cup is the third biggest sporting event in the world and a source of huge revenue generation for the hosting country as well. An illustration of this can be understood from the fact that television rights of 2011 and 2015 World Cup were sold excess of $1.1 billion.

Participants in World Cups

Only those teams which are full members of ICC, nations which are associate are eligible to participate in the tournament. Non-members of ICC can qualify through a sub-tournament named ICC World Cup Qualifier.


Former Sri Lankan captain Kumar Sangakkara holds the record of hitting four consecutive centuries in ICC World Cup when he completed his fourth one in the 35th game of ICC World Cup 2015 against Scotland.

Sachin Tendulkar holds the record of making maximum number of half-centuries (21) in the World Cup, seven of which were made in 2003 World Cup itself. He also holds the record for making the most runs in the World Cup, with a total of 2278 runs.

Australian player Glenn McGrath is the highest wicket taker in the tournament, bagging 71 wickets in tournament so far.

Also read : Biggest World Cup Wins | List of Cricket World Cup Records

ICC 2019 World Cup Prize Money:

World Cup Winners of 2019 will earn a pool of $4 million (27.8 CR INR), the highest prize money to date. The total prize money for CWC World Cup stands at $10 million (69.57 CR INR). The runner ups will get $2(13.91 CR INR) million, while the other two semi-finalist teams will get $800k each.

Winners of each league stage match (45): $40,000 each; Teams that do pass the league stage will get (6) $100,000 each.

Catch all the latest World Cup 2019 Live score, news, playing XI, match predictions, fantasy tips & stats.