Ashes Winners' Captains List

Last Modified Jul 23, 2019 15:40 IST

There has been 44 Ashes winners captains in the history of the series. Allan Border has played and won the most number of matches as the captain in Ashes. Allan Border captained his side in 28 matches, winning 13 and losing six matches with a win percentage of 46.42.

The list of Ashes Winners' Captains is given below -

Ashes Winners' Captains List

PlayerTeamMatchesWonLostWin %
Allan BorderAUS2813646.42
Mike BrearleyENG1511173.33
Don BradmanAUS1911357.89
Mark TaylorAUS169456.25
Steve WaughAUS98188.88
Warwick ArmstrongAUS108080
WG GraceENG138361.53
Monty NobleAUS158553.33
Ricky PontingAUS198642.1
Ian ChappellAUS167443.75

Among the winners captains in Ashes, Australian Steve Waugh has the highest win percentage. He captained Australia in nine Ashes matches, winning eight of them and losing just one. Some other players in the Ashes winners captains list are Sir Don Bradman, Ricky Ponting, Ian Chappell and John Brearley.

In the winners captain list In Ashes, two captains never lost a match. WW Armstrong and RB Simpson never lost a match under their captaincy. Armstrong captained his side in 10 matches, winning eight of them. His win percentage is second only to Steve Waugh among Ashes winners captain. RB Simpson captained his side in eight matches, winning two of them and the rest were tied.