Ashes Man of The Series

Last Modified Jul 04, 2023 12:48 IST

The Test rivalry between England and Australia, also known as The Ashes, dates back to the year 1882. However, the system of awarding the Man of the Series was started almost a hundred years later in 1978/79.

The Man of the Series award is earned by the cricketer who has made the most important contributions for their team in the series. The first ever Ashes Man of the Series award was earned by Dennis Lillee in the 1978/79 series in Australia.

Here is the list of the previous Ashes Man of the Series award winners:

Ashes Man of the Series List from 1978 to 2022 :

YearMan of the SeriesSeries winner
2021/22Travis HeadAustralia
2018/19Steven SmithDrawn
2017/18Steven SmithAustralia
2015Joe Root/Chris RogersEngland
2013/14Mitchell JohnsonAustralia
2013Ian Bell/Ryan HarrisEngland
2010/11Sir Alastair CookEngland
2009Andrew Strauss/Michael ClarkeEngland
2006/07Ricky PontingAustralia
2005Andrew Flintoff/Shane WarneEngland
2002/03Michael Vaughan/Glenn McGrathAustralia
1998/99Steve WaughAustralia
1997Graham Thorpe/Glenn McGrathAustralia
1994/95Craig McDermottAustralia
1993Graham Gooch/Shane WarneAustralia
1990/91Bruce ReidAustralia
1989Jack Russell/Terry AldermanAustralia
1986/87Chris BroadEngland
1985David GowerEngland
1982/83Geoff LawsonAustralia
1981Sir Ian BothamEngland
1978/79Dennis LilleeEngland

Generally, the Man of the Series is the player from the winning side as his contribution would have played a major role in them winning the series. However, the English Cricket Board started a tradition from 1989 where in a ‘Man of the Series’ from each side was selected instead of just one. Since then, in Australia, 6 Australians have won the award and only 2 Englishmen have been given that honour adding a bit of spice again to the bitter rivalry for England vs Australia Man of The Series.

Over the years, Australian bowlers Glenn McGrath and Shane Warne (who won 46 such awards in his career) are the only two players to have won the Ashes Man of the Series twice. Players like Joe Root and Steven Smith have the opportunity to get added to the list if they become the Ashes 2019 Man of the Series as they have already won it once in the 2015 and 2017/18 series respectively.

While most of the England vs Australia (Ashes) from 1978/79 comprised of either 5 or 6 Test matches, the number of matches were fixed to 5 from the 1998/99 series.

Also read : Winners list of Ashes

The 3 Mobile Ashes Series - Third Test - Day One - Australia vs England - December 14, 2006

App download animated image Get the free App now