Ashes Man of The Match

Last Modified Jan 17, 2022 10:07 IST

The Ashes is the oldest Test rivalry between any two nations in cricket. England and Australia have been playing brilliant cricket to win the ‘Ashes urn’ since the year 1882. For the fans it is the most awaited tournament that is played with the longest format of the game.

Ashes Man of the Match 2021-22

Find the Man of the Match for Ashes 2021-22 series below -

Sl. No.DateMan of the matchStatsTeam
1st TestDec 8thTravis HeadInn 1 - 152Australia
2nd TestDec 16thMarnus LabuschagneInn 1 - 103, Inn 2 - 51Australia
3rd TestDec 26thScott BolandInn 1 - 48/1, Inn 2 - 7/6Australia
4th TestJan 5thUsman KhawajaInn 1 - 137, Inn 2 - 101Australia
5th TestJan 14thTravis HeadInn 1 - 101, Inn 2 - 8Australia

England v Australia - 1st Specsavers Ashes Test: Day Five

Also see - Ashes Best bowling figures

List of Ashes Man of the Match Awards (Last 10 Ashes series) :

In such highly anticipated series, some players really stand out in each game to win games for their teams. They are awarded with the ‘Man of the Match’ award. The tradition of awarding the ‘Man of the Match’ in England vs Australia Test series began in the 1978/79 season in Australia.

Here is a list of players with most ‘Man of the Match’ awards in the last 10 Ashes series:

S. No.Man of the MatchNo. of timesTeam
1Steven Smith7Australia
2Ricky Ponting5Australia
3Mitchell Johnson4Australia
4Sir Alastair Cook3England
5Stuart Broad3England
6Andrew Flintoff3England
7Shane Warne3Australia
8Glenn McGrath2Australia
9Kevin Pietersen2England
10Joe Root2England
11Michael Clarke2Australia
12Travis Head2Australia
13Adam Gilchrist1Australia
14Mark Butcher1England
15Matthew Hayden1Australia
16Damien Martyn1Australia
17Justin Langer1Australia
18Michael Vaughan1England
19Michael Hussey1Australia
20Stuart Clark1Australia
21Marcus North1Australia
22Jonathan Trott1England
23James Anderson1England
24Shane Watson1Australia
25Ryan Harris1Australia
26Steven Finn1England
27Shaun Marsh1Australia
28Marnus Labuschagne1Australia
29Scott Boland1Australia
30Usman Khawaja1Australia

England’s Derek Randall won the first award in the first Test of the series as England beat the Aussies by 7 wickets. Randall scored 75 off 196 balls in the first innings and an unbeaten 74 off 175 balls in the second innings.

In the last 10 years, Australia’s Steven Smith (6) has the most number of Man of the Match awards to his name in Ashes series. The next two with most such awards are also Australians, Ricky Ponting (5) and Mitchell Johnson (4). No Englishman has won it more than 3 times.

50 matches have been played in the last 10 Ashes series. The Man of the Match award has gone to an Australian 32 times while it has gone to an Englishman only 18 times.