Write & Earn

IPL 2017: Kevin Pietersen, Michael Clarke join commentary panel

The usual suspects will be joined by newbies in the commentary box.

Kevin Pietersen Michael Clarke
Pietersen, Clarke back in IPL as commentators

With the Indian Premier League just a day away, the BCCI has released the list of commentators for the same. 

This list includes the usual suspects in Ravi Shastri, Sunil Gavaskar, Sanjay Manjrekar and Isa Guha there are quite a number of new recruits who will lend their voice to the proceedings. Michael Clarke and Kevin Pietersen are the newcomers who will join the carnival.

However, Harsha Bhogle still does not feature in the list as there were rumours afloat that he would be back behind the microphone this season. 

Extra Cover: IPL 2017: Scientific astrologer predicts the winners and losers of IPL 10

The former Australian captain, Michael Clarke who was in the country for the just concluded Border-Gavaskar is quite chuffed about the new challenge. 

“I have been a part of this tournament as a player and this year I am eager to get behind the microphone and have some fun,” said Clarke.

“Love this place, love the tournament and it is great to be a part of this commentary team.” Clarke further added. 

Along with Clarke, out-of-favour Kevin Pietersen would also be a part of the panel. Incidentally, the English batsman had pulled out of the tournament as he wanted to spend time with his family. 

“It’s always great to be in India and playing in or commentating on all of the explosive action that personifies the IPL,” Pietersen said.

“Coming back this time as a commentator is going to be an experience I will cherish for a long time. I always look forward to this tournament, but in my new role as commentator, I’m looking forward to it even more. I am sure my fellow commentators and I are going to have an absolute blast, calling all the action live as it unfolds to the hundreds of millions of IPL fans,” he further added. 

Here is a complete list of the commentary team: 
Sanjay Manjrekar- India
Scott Styris- New Zealand
Ravi Shastri- India
Pommie Mbangwa- ZimbabweMurali Kartik- India
Brett Lee- Australia
L Sivaramakrishnan- India
Anjum Chopra- India
Danny Morrison- New Zealand
Kevin Pietersen- England
Brendon Julien- Australia
Daren Ganga- West Indies
Sunil Gavaskar- India
Simon Doull- Australia
Isa Guha- England
Michael Hussey- Australia
Lisa Sthalekar- Australia
Matthew Hayden- Australia
Melanie Jones- Australia
Micheal Clarke- Australia

Fetching more content...