T20 World Cup 2021: "Better if you give us a walkover" - Harbhajan Singh mocks Shoaib Akhtar ahead of IND vs PAK clash 

Harbhajan Singh. (Image: Getty)
Harbhajan Singh. (Image: Getty)

The Indian cricket team is slated to open their T20 World Cup 2021 campaign on October 24 with a clash against their arch-rivals Pakistan. Whenever the two nations square off on a cricket field, it is nothing short of a marquee event. However, Harbhajan Singh feels there is no point in Pakistan contesting against India in the impending ICC tournament.

While speaking on Star Sports during a post-match interview after the recently concluded Indian Premier League, Harbhajan made fun of Pakistan's chances against Virat Kohli and co. He believes India will better their tally of World Cup wins against their nemesis.

The veteran off-spinner revealed that he has told ex-Pakistani speedster, Shoaib Akhtar, that India have a formidable line-up and predicted that they will come out on top against the Babar Azam-led side. He even suggested that Pakistan should give India a walkover.

"I have told Shoaib Akhtar that there is no point in playing against Pakistan in the T20 World Cup. It is better if you give us a walkover instead. If you play against us again, you will have to deal with another loss which will leave you disappointed. Pakistan have no chance against this Indian side."

Watch the full video here:

#MaukaMauka milte hi, @harbhajan_singh had a special message ahead of #INDvPAK! 😉Will #MaukaMan avail the #Buy1Break1Free offer after the ICC Men's #T20WorldCup 2021 ⚔️?#LiveTheGame | Oct 24 | Star Sports Network & Disney+Hotstar

At the T20 World Cup, India boast a spotless record against Pakistan as they have defeated them on all five occasions.

India squad for T20 World Cup

Fuelled by the billion blessings, Team India is ready to don the new jersey and bring out their A-game. 🇮🇳Get ready to cheer for #TeamIndia and #ShowYourGame @mpl_sport. #MPLSports #BillionCheersJersey

Virat Kohli will lead the Indian cricket team in the forthcoming competition in UAE, while Rohit Sharma will serve as his deputy at the showpiece event. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced a 15-member squad for the tournament. Here is the complete list:

Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami.

Stand-by players: Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Axar Patel.

Edited by Prem Deshpande
live poll LIVE POLL

Q. Do you think Pakistan have the firepower to give India a tough fight in their T20 World clash?



61 votes so far

comments icon1 comment

Quick Links:

More from Sportskeeda
Fetching more content...
Article image

Go to article
App download animated image Get the free App now