India Cricket World Cup Team

Last Modified Jul 01, 2019 15:32 IST

The Indian Cricket squad for the World Cup was announced on April 15, 2019. The squad is comprised of four genuine batsmen: Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan and KL Rahul, two wicketkeeper batsman: MS Dhoni and Dinesh Karthik, four all-rounders: Vijay Shankar, Hardik Pandya, Kedar Jadhav and Ravindra Jadeja and five bowlers out of which three are pacers: Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami and Bhuvneshwar Kumar and two spinners: Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal. Ambati Rayudu, Rishabh Pant, Axar Patel, Navdeep Saini and Ishant Sharma have been named as reserves.

This time, the Indian squad is one of the most balanced squads that India has ever had in the World Cup. Apart from the #4 dilemma, the batting order looks sorted and the bowling attack looks lethal.

India National Cricket Team

Virat Kohli (C)Batsman
Rohit Sharma (VC)Batsman
Mayank AgarwalBatsman
KL RahulBatsman / Wicket Keeper
Rishabh PantBatsman / Wicket Keeper
MS DhoniBatsman / Wicket Keeper
Dinesh KarthikWicket Keeper
Ravindra JadejaAll Rounder
Hardik PandyaAll Rounder
Kedar JadhavAll Rounder
Bhuvneshwar KumarBowler
Jasprit BumrahBowler
Mohammad ShamiBowler
Kuldeep YadavBowler
Yuzvendra ChahalBowler

Analysis of the Batting Order

With Rohit and Shikhar opening the innings, what more could have India asked for. In Virat Kohli, India have the best #3 batsman in the world. While India have had been struggling to find a #4 for their team, KL Rahul seems to fill the position beautifully. Kedar Jadhav although currently injured can be an equally good at that position. Although Vijay Shankar hasn't been able to impress as of late, he too can bat at #4. Dhoni and his experience can come in very handy for India at #5. At #6, we will have Dinesh Karthik followed by Hardik Pandya at #7 playing the role of finisher. Keeping in mind, Pandya's hard-hitting form, we can also anticipate a promotion of Hardik Pandya to #5 and a shift of the rest of the batting order in certain situations. Ravindra Jadeja will probably be our #8. Two of the three pacers will be playing as #9 and #10. And the last man is going to be one of the two spinners.

India's Bowling options

Captain Virat Kohli is going to have a lot of experience and variation at his disposal in terms of bowling attack in this World Cup. With fifty overs to ball Virat Kohli will have two of his genuine pacers and Hardik Pandya or Vijay Shankar to ball the quickies. Ravindra Jadeja's ten overs are going to be extremely crucial. If Kedar Jadhav plays, he too can ball a couple of quick overs. Out of Yuzvendra and Kuldeep one spinner is expected to get into the playing XI. But we never know, Kohli might bring in both of them and surprise his opponents.

Team Changes :

Shikhar Dhawan got ruled out of the tournament due to injury. He is replaced by young Rishabh Pant.

Vijay Shakar recently got ruled out due to toe injury ad Mayak Agarwal comes into the team.

India v New Zealand – ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Warm Up