⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

World Cup 2019 Points Table

Pos Team P W L D NRR Pts
1 India 9 7 1 1 0.809 15
2 Australia 9 7 2 0 0.868 14
3 England 9 6 3 0 1.152 12
4 New Zealand 9 5 3 1 0.175 11
5 Pakistan 9 5 3 1 -0.430 11
6 Sri Lanka 9 3 4 2 -0.919 8
7 South Africa 9 3 5 1 -0.030 7
8 Bangladesh 9 3 5 1 -0.410 7
9 West Indies 9 2 6 1 -0.225 5
10 Afghanistan 9 0 9 0 -1.322 0

Current World Cup Points Table Scenario:

In the first Semi Final India played against New Zealand and lost by 18 runs giving way to New Zealand for their second consecutive World Cup Final.

In the second Semi Final England comfortably won against Australia with 8 wickets left. And qualified to the World Cup Final.

Also see – ICC World Test Championship points table

England played against New Zealand in the final of World Cup 2019 on July 14th at Lord's and lifted their first ever cricket world cup.


India and Australia were the two consistent sides in the group stage and that is reflected in their position in the table. India nearly had a flawless campaign with the exception of their loss against England and a washed out match against New Zealand. Rohit Sharma,Virat Kohli and Jasprit Bumrah were the stars for the side.

Likewise, Australia too had a fantastic tournament and their only losses came against India and South Africa. In fact, if they had not lost the match against South Africa on the final day of the group phase, Australia would have finished on top of the table and faced New Zealand in the semi-final.

The eventual champions England had a topsy-turvy group stage and they nearly put themselves out of contention after two consecutive losses against Sri Lanka and Australia in the middle of the tournament. However, two wins against India and New Zealand helped them qualify for the semifinals.

Meanwhile, New Zealand had a terrific start to their campaign but a flurry of losses combined with a resurgent Pakistan side put the Kiwi side in severe danger of missing out on the Top 4. They only managed to qualify on the basis of NRR.

Other six teams-

Pakistan had a campaign that was exactly opposite in nature to what New Zealand had. They had a very bad start to their campaign and put themselves in a situation where they had to win all of their last 4 matches. In spite of doing that, they had to head back home on the basis of NRR.

Bangladesh and Sri Lanka who were two teams that played much better than what was expected prior to the tournament. Shakib Al Hasan, in particular, had his country dreaming of a World Cup semi-final. However, inconsistency and failure to convert starts haunted both the South Asian sides.

South Africa had a largely forgetful campaign in England and Wales. They were troubled by form and injury issues to some of their key players. The only tournament highlight for the Proteas came against Australia when they upset them on the last day of the group stage.

West Indies and Afghanistan finished at the bottom of the points table. While West Indies showed glimpses of their burgeoning talent, they couldn't quite convert into solid performances to win 50-over matches. Their two wins came against Pakistan and Afghanistan.

The most disappointing team of the tournament was Afghanistan without any iota of doubt. Many believed that the team could upset 1 or 2 teams but they could only muster up poor performances throughout and went on to end the tournament with zero wins.

To find out who is the highest WC scorer till date read : Most runs in world cup 2019

How does the World Cup Points Table Work?

A total of 10 teams will be competing this year for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 throne in a full round robin format. The top 4 teams at the end of 45 matches played (each team plays the rest of the teams once) will enter into the knockout stage.

Also see: World Cup 2019 Highlights

The points are assigned in the following manner for 2019 World Cup:

  1. Win – 2 Points
  2. Loss – 0 Point
  3. Tie, Abandoned match – 1 Point each

If two or more teams have the same amount of points at the end of 9 matches played per team, then the team with the higher number of wins will be ranked higher.

If the teams are still tied, then the NRR (net run rate) will be taken into account.

If teams are still tied, then the result of Head to Head match(es) played between them will be taken into account (if points are still the same, then net run rate of those matches will be considered).

If the above does not resolve the League Stage standings and there are teams that are still equal, the teams will be ordered as per their League Stage seedings.

If all the matches in league stage fail to produce results, the teams will be ordered as per their League Stage seedings and the top 4 seeded teams will progress to Semi-Finals.

Semi Final:

If a Semi-Final is tied, the teams shall compete in a Super Over and the team which wins the Super Over shall qualify to the finals.

If following a tie, the Super Over fails to be completed due to any reasons, or if the match is abandoned or a no result at the end of the day, then the team which is in higher position in League stage shall qualify to the finals.

World Cup Points Table


If the final is tied, the teams shall compete in a Super Over and the team which wins the Super Over shall be the winner of the tournament.

If following a tie, the Super Over fails to be completed due to any reasons, or if the match is abandoned or a no result at the end of the day, the team with higher boundaries is declared as winners.

Also read: How is Net Run Rate Calculated in Cricket?

Defending champions Australia has the strongest World Cup record with five titles, followed by India and West Indies both of whom have won twice.