Ranji Winners List

Last Modified Jun 27, 2022 10:58 IST

Named after the first Indian cricketer who played international cricket, Ranjitsinhji, Ranji Trophy was first played in the 1934-35 season. It is the premier first-class cricket championship in India and is administered by the BCCI. In the 2019-20 season of the Ranji Trophy, the final match was a draw between Saurashtra and Bengal.

The complete list of Ranji Trophy winners is given below -

Ranji Trophy Winners List

2022Madhya Pradesh536/10, 108/4(29.5)Mumbai374/10, 269/10(57.3)MP won by 6 wickets
2019-20Saurashtra425, 105/4 (34.0)Bengal381Match drawn (Saurashtra vs Bengal)
2018-19Vidarbha312, 200Saurashtra307,127Vidarbha won by 78 runs
2017-18Vidarbha547, 32/1Delhi295, 280Vidarbha won by 9 wickets
2016-17Gujarat328, 313/5Mumbai228, 411Gujarat won by 5 wickets
2015-16Mumbai371Saurashtra235, 115Mumbai won by an innings and 21 runs
2014-15Karnataka762Tamil Nadu134, 411Karnataka won by an innings and 217 runs
2013-14Karnataka515, 157/3Maharashtra305, 366Karnataka won by 7 wickets
2012-13Mumbai355Saurashtra148, 82Mumbai win by an innings and 125 runs
2011-12Rajasthan621, 204/5dTamil Nadu295, 8/2Match drawn (Rajasthan won on 1st innings)
2009-10Mumbai233, 234Karnataka130, 331Mumbai won by 6 runs

The tournament follows a round-robin format followed by knockout matches. The 2022 season of the tournament, which will be its 87th edition will have 38 teams. In 85 years since the inception of the tournament, there have been 17 different Ranji winner.

Also see - Ranji Points Table

The first edition of the tournament was won by Bombay (now known as Mumbai). Mumbai/Bombay has played in 46 finals and has won a total of 41 Ranji Trophy champions, the most by any team on the Ranji winners list.

Karnataka is the second most successful team, winning 8 titles in 14 final appearances. In the last three editions of the tournament, there were two new winners, Gujarat in 2016-17 and Vidarbha in 2017-18 and 2018-19. Mumbai/Bombay also holds the record of most consecutive Ranji title wins, 15, from 1958-59 season to 1972-73 season.