Rohit Sharma T20I Captaincy Record

Last Modified Oct 25, 2022 13:47 IST

India's current all-format skipper Rohit Sharma will go down in history as one of the most successful T20 captains that the shortest format has ever seen. There is a long list of Rohit Sharma Captaincy Records in T20Is & T20s.

Rohit Sharma made his T20 captaincy debut during the 2013 season of the Indian Premier League when regular skipper Ricky Ponting decided to relinquish the reins of the Mumbai Indians to the Indian opener.

This proved to be a watershed moment in the career of Rohit and also for the Mumbai Indians, which went to claim its maiden title that year.

Since taking over the leadership, Rohit Sharma has led MI to an unprecedented 5 titles- 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 & 2020. He had led the Mumbai Indians in 143 games, winning 79 and losing 60. His W% of 56.64 is only bettered by the legendary MS Dhoni, who has a 123/86 record in 213 games as CSK skipper.

Sharma made his T20 captaincy debut for India in late 2017, when regular skipper Virat Kohli was rested for a three-match series against the visiting Sri Lankan team. Since then, he has led India in 44 games, winning 35 and losing just 9.

1869033.jpg (1080×1920)

Overall, Rohit has led in 192 T20 games, winning 118 and losing just 71.

Rohit Sharma Captaincy Record: T20I

India, Mumbai Indians19311871401.66

HD-wallpaper-rohit-sharma-hitman-cricket-rohitsharma.jpg (800×1253)

Indian Captains with most wins in T20Is: Rohit Sharma grabs 2nd position

MS Dhoni2017-1672412812
Rohit Sharma2017- Present46361000
Virat Kohli2017-2150301622
Hardik Pandya202233000
Rishabh Pant202252201
Ajinkya Rahane201521100
Shikhar Dhawan202131200
Virender Sehwag200611000

Rohit Sharma Captaincy Record: T20 (Overall)

Sharma made his T20I captaincy debut in the absence of regular captain Virat Kohli during the 3-match T20I series against Sri Lanka in the winter of 2017. India went to win that series 3-0. He then led India to the Nidahas Trophy title in 2018, before competing another series whitewash at home, this time against the West Indies. Rohit suffered his first [and till date] his only T20I series defeat during a 3-match series in New Zealand in February 2019. Under his leadership, India lost their first-ever T20I to Bangladesh, that too on home soil.

Rohit was appointed full-time captain post the 2021 T20 World Cup and thus far, he has clean swept the likes of the West Indies [home and away], Sri Lanka [home and way


Rohit Sharma T20 Captaincy Record: IPL


1869089.jpg (1600×1000)