New User posted their first comment

Stats: Highest individual ODI scores for each year starting from 1971 to 2015

Umang Pabari
Modified 19 Dec 2015, 21:51 IST
Tendulkar's unbeaten 200 turned out to be the highest score of the year 2010

There are many well-known ODI centuries made by players that most of us have heard of. Many of us know about Sachin Tendulkar’s 200 runs or Saeed Anwar and Charles Coventry’s 194 runs each. Every die-hard cricket fan will know about Rohit Sharma’s two double centuries in ODIs or Kapil Dev’s 175* runs against Zimbabwe in ODIs.

But do you know the highest score made by a player in each year starting from 1971 to 2015 in ODIs? You might have read about all who hold the records for the respective ages in ODIs, but you may not know the same for years.

Even if you are a cricket fanatic, some of the record holders will certainly surprise you. While some legends like Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara are on this list, there are some you would least suspect of holding the record.

So, here we have presented a table that includes the highest score made by players in each year starting from 1971 to 2015 in ODI cricket to this day:

Year Player name Country Runs Opposition Ground
1971 John Edrich England 82 Australia Melbourne Cricket Ground
1972 Dennis Amiss  England 103 Australia Old Trafford
1973 Roy Fredericks  West Indies 105 England Kennington Oval
1974 David Lloyd England 116* Pakistan Trent Bridge
1975 Glenn Turner  New Zealand 171* East Africa Edgbaston
1976 Viv Richards West Indies 119* England North Marine Road Ground
1977 Gregory Chappell Australia 125* England Kennington Oval
1978 Desmond Haynes West Indies 148 Australia Antigua Recreation Ground
1979 Viv Richards West Indies 153* Australia Melbourne Cricket Ground
1980 Gregory Chappell Australia 138* New Zealand Sydney Cricket Ground
1981 Bruce Laird  Australia 117* West Indies Sydney Cricket Ground
1982 Zaheer Abbas Pakistan 123 Sri Lanka Gaddafi Stadium
1983 Kapil Dev India 175* Zimbabwe Nevill Ground
1984 Viv Richards West Indies 189* England Old Trafford
1985 Desmond Haynes West Indies 145* New Zealand Albion Sports Complex
1986 Charles Athey  England 142* New Zealand Old Trafford
1987 Viv Richards West Indies 181 Sri Lanka National Stadium
1988 Desmond Haynes West Indies 142* Pakistan Queen’s Park Oval
1989 Desmond Haynes West Indies 152* India Bourda
1990 Dean Jones Australia 145 England Brisbane Cricket Ground
1991 Richie Richardson  West Indies 122 Pakistan Sharjah Cricket Stadium
1992 Philip Simmons  West Indies 122 South Africa Sabina Park
1993 Robin Smith England 167* Australia Edgbaston
1994 David Callaghan  South Africa 169* New Zealand SuperSport Park
1995 Brian Lara West Indies 169 Sri Lanka Sharjah Cricket Stadium
1996 Gary Kirsten South Africa 188* United Arab Emirates Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium
1997 Saeed Anwar Pakistan 194 India MA Chidambaram Stadium
1998 Mohammad Azharuddin  India 153* Zimbabwe Barabati Stadium
1999 Sachin Tendulkar India 186* New Zealand Lal Bahadur Shastri Stadium
2000 Sanath Jayasuriya Sri Lanka 189 India Sharjah Cricket Stadium
2001 Mark Waugh Australia 173 West Indies Melbourne Cricket Ground
2002 Dinesh Mongia India 159* Zimbabwe Nehru Stadium (Guwahati)
2003 Craig Wishart  Zimbabwe 172* Namibia Harare Sports Club
2004 Adam Gilchrist Austraia 172 Zimbabwe Bellerive Oval
2005 MS Dhoni India 183* Sri Lanka Sawai Mansingh Stadium
2006 Herschelle Gibbs  South Africa 175 Australia The Wanderers Stadium
2007 Matthew Hayden  Australia 181* New Zealand Seddon Park
2008 Brendon McCullum New Zealand 166 Ireland Mannofield Park
2009 Charles Coventry  Zimbabwe 194* Bangladesh Queens Sports Club
2010 Sachin Tendulkar India 200* South Africa Captain Roop Singh Stadium
2011 Virender Sehwag India 219 West Indies Holkar Cricket Stadium
2012 Virat Kohli India 183 Pakistan Shere Bangla National Stadium
2013 Rohit Sharma India 209 Australia M Chinnaswamy Stadium
2014 Rohit Sharma India 264 Sri Lanka Eden Gardens
2015 Martin Guptil New Zealand 237* West Indies Westpack Stadium

Here is an another table that shows team-wise distributions of highest scores made by their players in ODI cricket:

Count Team
12 West Indies
10 India
7 Australia
5 England
3 New Zealand
3 South Africa
2 Zimbabwe
2 Pakistan
1 Sri Lanka

By observing the first table, we can see that there are two players – Viv Richards and Desmond Haynes – who had made the highest ODI scores in four different calendar years which is a record while Gregory Chappell, Sachin Tendulkar and Rohit Sharma had made the highest ODI scores in two different calendar years, and the rest of the players had done that only one time.

Published 19 Dec 2015, 21:09 IST
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit