WBBL Winners List

Last Modified Nov 28, 2022 09:21 IST

The Women’s Big Bash League is in its eighth edition in 2022. The T20 tournament saw its maiden season back in 2015 and has attracted eyeballs from every nook & corner. The eighth season of the Women's Big Bash League will begin on the 13th of October and its final will be played on the 20th of November.

Let’s have a look at the WBBL winners list:

WBBL Winners List

SeasonWinnersWon byRunners-Up
2015Sydney Thunder3 wicketsSydney Sixers
2016Sydney Sixers7 runsPerth Scorchers
2017Sydney Sixers9 wicketsPerth Scorchers
2018Brisbane Heat3 wicketsSydney Sixers
2019Brisbane Heat6 wicketsAdelaide Strikers
2020Sydney Thunder7 wicketsMelbourne Stars
2021Perth Scorchers 12 runsAdelaide Strikers
2022Adelaide Strikers Women10 runsSydney Sixers Women

In the first seven seasons of the tournament, the fans have witnessed three different teams lift the trophy. Out of those three teams, two are from Sydney. With the entirety of WBBL 2022 taking place across eight venues in Hobart, Launceston, Perth, Adelaide, and Mackay, we can expect a well-fought tournament. The WBBL winners from 2021, Perth Scorchers will have to work hard and find the right balance to defend their title this year.

Get the updated WBBL 2022 points table here.

The winners of the last seven editions, Sydney Thunder (2015 and 2020), Sydney Sixers (2016 and 2017), and Brisbane Heat (2018 and 2019) will be fighting for their third trophy, while Perth Scorchers will look for their 2nd consecutive title win. Meanwhile, the other four teams, Adelaide Strikers, Hobart Hurricanes, Melbourne Renegades, and Melbourne Stars will be competing for their first-ever title win.