New User posted their first comment

World Cup 2019, South Africa vs Bangladesh: Match Preview

Mashrafe Mortaza and Faf du Plessis
Mashrafe Mortaza and Faf du Plessis
Modified 03 Jun 2019, 12:29 IST

The fifth match of ICC World Cup 2019 will be played on 2nd June at 3 PM IST between South Africa and Bangladesh at Kia Oval, London.

South Africa lost their first match against England by a margin of 104 runs. Their bowling unit performed well but the batting unit failed miserably.

On the other side, Bangladesh have a good blend of young and experienced talents in their line-up. They are not favourites to make into the next round, but can definitely cause trouble to any team on their day.

Key Players

Rassie van der Dussen hit a fifty against England. He has played only 10 ODIs so far and has hit five fifties. South Africa will hope he continues his good form in the upcoming matches as well.

South Africa's move to open the bowling with Imran Tahir went well against England. It will be interesting to see whether he will be able to replicate a similar performance

Mushfiqur Rahim holds the key for Bangladesh's batting. He has scored 90 runs in the warm-up match against India. Apart from Mushfiqur, Bangladesh will also expect solid performance from Shakib Al Hasan with both ball and bat.

Probable XI


South Africa

Chris Morris
Chris Morris

South Africa could replace Dwaine Pretorius with Chris Morris. There are no other changes expected in their line-up.

Probable XI: Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock (WK), Aiden Markram, Faf du Plessis (C), Rassie van der Dussen, JP Duminy, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius / Chris Morris, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Imran Tahir.


Soumya Sarkar
Soumya Sarkar

Considering the recent performances, Bangladesh could play both Liton Das and Soumya Sarkar in the top order. All-rounder Mohammed Saifuddin could get a slot at the expense of Mohammed Mithun.

Probable XI: Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim (WK), Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Mohammad Mithun / Mohammad Saifuddin, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mashrafe Mortaza (C), Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Jayed. 



South Africa: Faf du Plessis (C), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock (WK), Aiden Markram, Rassie van der Dussen, JP Duminy, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dale Steyn, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dwaine Pretorius, Chris Morris, Imran Tahir.

Bangladesh: Mashrafe Mortaza (C), Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim (WK), Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan, Mohammad Mithun, Sabbir Rahaman, Mosaddek Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Jayed.

Also read - Most wickets in world cup year wise

Follow Sportskeeda for all the updates on World Cup points table, news, world cup most runs, live scores, schedule, most runs, most wickets and fantasy tips.

Published 02 Jun 2019, 08:00 IST
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit