Favorites Edit

FIFA Ballon D'Or 2014 - Who did the national team captains vote for?

Ed Ran
77.97K   //    13 Jan 2015, 10:24 IST
FIFA Ballon D'Or 2014 who voted for who
Cristiano Ronaldo won his third FIFA Ballon D’Or

A gala night in Zurich, Switzerland saw Portugal and Real Madrid forward Cristiano Ronaldo take home the 2014 Ballon D’Or crown. The 29-year-old beat Lionel Messi and Manuel Neuer to win his third Ballon D’Or award – his second consecutive win.

Ronaldo won the award with 37.66% of the votes while Barcelona and Argentina captain Messi came in second with 15.76% while Germany and Bayern Munich goalkeeper Manuel Neuer came in a close third with 15.72%. Ronaldo is now just one award away from tying Messi for the all-time record of four wins. He has already joined the illustrious company of Johan Cruyff, Michel Platini and Marco van Basten after winning it for the third time.

2014 Ballon D’Or: Who did the captains vote for?

The players are voted for by the captains of all countries which are member associations of FIFA, their coaches, and a media representative. FIFA has released the list of all the votes cast during the voting process. The first choice gets 5 points, the second choice gets 3 points while the third and final choice gets 1 point. The points are then added to reveal the final winner.

We’ve listed the choices of some of the more famous players and it’s interesting to note that the majority of them have gone with players from their club or national team.

Argentina Lionel Messi Angel Di Maria Andres Iniesta Javier Mascherano
Australia Mile Jedinak Cristiano Ronaldo Toni Kroos Yaya Toure
Belgium Vincent Kompany Thibaut Courtois Eden Hazard Arjen Robben
Bosnia Edin Dzeko Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Arjen Robben
Brazil Neymar Lionel Messi Cristiano Ronaldo Javier Mascherano
Chile Claudio Bravo Lionel Messi Andres Iniesta Manuel Neuer
Colombia Radamel Falcao James Rodriguez Cristiano Ronaldo Angel Di Maria
Costa Rica Bryan Ruiz Cristiano Ronaldo Andres Iniesta Arjen Robben
Croatia Darijo Srna Cristiano Ronaldo Bastian Schweinsteiger Arjen Robben
Czech Republic Tomas Rosicky Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Bastian Schweinsteiger
Denmark Daniel Agger Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Manuel Neuer
England Wayne Rooney Cristiano Ronaldo Toni Kroos Gareth Bale
France Hugo Lloris Cristiano Ronaldo Karim Benzema Manuel Neuer
Germany Bastian Schweinsteiger Manuel Neuer Philipp Lahm Thomas Muller
Ghana Asamoah Gyan Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Toni Kroos
India Sunil Chhetri Manuel Neuer Thomas Muller Cristiano Ronaldo
Italy Gianluigi Buffon Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Manuel Neuer
Japan Keisuke Honda Manuel Neuer Gareth Bale Cristiano Ronaldo
Mexico Andres Guardado Philipp Lahm Angel Di Maria Cristiano Ronaldo
Netherlands Robin van Persie Arjen Robben Zlatan Ibrahimovic Manuel Neuer
Nigeria Vincent Enyeama Cristiano Ronaldo Zlatan Ibrahimovic Yaya Toure
Paraguay Roque Santa Cruz Cristiano Ronaldo Arjen Robben Philipp Lahm
Poland Robert Lewandowski Cristiano Ronaldo Manuel Neuer Bastian Schweinsteiger
Portugal Cristiano Ronaldo Sergio Ramos Gareth Bale Karim Benzema
Republic of Ireland Robbie Keane Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Gareth Bale
Serbia Brainslav Ivanovic Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Eden Hazard
Scotland Brown Scott Cristiano Ronaldo Robben Arjen Neuer Manuel
Slovakia Martin Skrtel Cristiano Ronaldo Karim Benzema Eden Hazard
Spain Iker Casillas Cristiano Ronaldo Sergio Ramos Thomas Muller
Sweden Zlatan Ibrahimovic Lionel Messi Manuel Neuer Cristiano Ronaldo
Switzerland Gokhan Inler Cristiano Ronaldo Arjen Robben Neymar
Turkey Arda Turan Cristiano Ronaldo Arjen Robben Karim Benzema
Uruguay Diego Godin Diego Costa Thibaut Courtois Arjen Robben
USA Clint Dempsey Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Thomas Muller
Wales Ashley Williams Gareth Bale Bastian Schweinsteiger Eden Hazard

Topics you might be interested in:
Ed Ran
Bringing to you the latest news and updates in the world of sport!
Fetching more content...