Favorites Edit

Joe Hart nominated for Goalkeeper of the Year

4.19K   //    20 Nov 2012, 14:14 IST

Manchester City and England custodian Joe Hart has been named by FIFA as one of the five best goalkeepers in the world, and has been short-listed for the FIFPro World XI for 2012.

The other four are Petr Cech, Iker Casillas, Gianlugi Buffon and Manuel Neuer.

One of the above five will be announced as the Goalkeeper of the Year during the Ballon D’Or award ceremony in January 2013.

Casillas has won the award four years in row now, with Buffon winning it back in 2006 and 2007. Hart is meanwhile, being nominated for the first time. Cech has been nominated six times and yet never won it. Neuer receives his second nomination.

The five have been nominated by players across the world, and the winner will also be included in the FIFA World XI for 2012.

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...