“I’ve been waiting for this for years”- Internet reacts to alleged vaulted tracks by Kanye West, Kendrick Lamar, Travis Scott, & more being leaked

Travis Scott in the music video for
Travis Scott in the music video for 'FE!N' uploaded to YouTube on March 31, 2024 (Image via YouTube/@TravisScottXX)

Several magazines are reporting that hundreds of tracks have leaked online, including music from Travis Scott, Kanye West, Kendrick Lamar, Gunna, and more. These songs were allegedly leaked in a Discord "Group-buy" event, where fan donations help achieve the targeted price, which then releases the track publicly.

It's being reported by XXL that the leaked songs will also include stems, which will allow producers and independent artists to use Ye or Gunna's vocals on their own projects. Conversations over possible major artist leaks started to flood Reddit servers before being officially reported by HipHopnMore magazine.

Amongst the many "leaked" songs, fans are extremely excited over Kanye West and Travis Scott's highly anticipated record Can U Be. Other leaked tracks are said to include songs from A$AP Rocky’s Testing album and over 100 different songs from Gunna.

Fans have flooded X (formerly Twitter) to share their reactions to the news that leaked songs from major artists are allegedly being distributed online. One user appeared to be thrilled with the release of Can U Be, highlighting how they've been waiting for this track to be released for "years".

This reaction appears to be echoed across social media by thousands of fans, who will now supposedly get to listen to vaulted tracks from their favorite artists.

Many appeared to support the Group Buy event, highlighting their intrigue over listening to older versions of finished songs, which will allegedly be included on the server.

"I always wanted to hear just some snippets of these supposed 40 songs he had with Kendrick, doubt most of them are even nearly finished tho if it’s a freestyle tape" - One user stated in response to the potential of receiving 40 Kendrick Lamar x Kanye West collaborations.
"This has to be the biggest groupbuy in music history" - Said another user.
"I WAS HERE I HELPED" - One user proudly stated.

Although it's unclear whether these tracks are real or AI-generated, which appears to be a concern shared by many. The leak itself is quite a significant moment for the music industry and artists, as fans are shelling out thousands of dollars in hopes of receiving a leaked track.

"Paying thousands for 'leaks' and not knowing if they’re AI is wild behavior" - One user highlighted.
"Sounds like AI. I mean if the thing is real, the. The record companies would've made a statement about these lost songs" - Explained one user.
"That’s insane! Hacking is illegal & how could you tell if it is AI made or not?" - One user questioned the Group Buy event.

Popular artists that had their songs leaked online

While the internet continues to frenzy over the Group Buy alleged artist leaks, we've put together a list of the biggest rappers who've dealt with their music leaking online, as well as the most notable leaks from their discography.

Ye has, several times over the years, publicly stated his unhappiness with leakers illegally uploading unreleased material. Most of the music industry echoes this emotion, as hackers usually target popular artists to have a higher chance of re-selling the song to fans. Check out the full list below:

1) Jesus Is King II - Kanye West

Jesus Is King II was supposed to be Kanye West's 10th official studio album but was canceled mid-production. The album recruited Dr. Dre to assist in the production and mastering of a project that was initially supposed to house remixed versions of Jesus Is King but went on to mostly include fresh tracks and new features. The album was leaked in its entirety back in September last year.

2) Perfect - Travis Scott

Travis Scott's 2014 creation includes the track Perfect, which was initially supposed to be included on his Days Before Rodeo album. The song was produced by Boi-1da, DJ Dahi, and THC and includes vocal stems from Young Thug and PARTYNEXTDOOR as well.

3) I'm Better (Demo) - Kendrick Lamar

Kendrick Lamar created and recorded a demo titled I'm Better back in 2020, which was later leaked in its entirety online on December 16, 2022. The song was initially supposed to be included on Mr. Morale & The Big Steppers but appears to have been scrapped since it never made it onto the released version of the album.

4) Cake (All In Her Face) - Playboi Carti

Cake (All In Her Face) is a song from Playboi Carti that appears to have been recorded in 2017. The track was produced by Pi'erre Bourne and was officially previewed in April last year before several snippets began to surface online. The complete song was leaked online in November last year.

5) Made It Work (Under 25) - Juice Wrld

Made It Work (Under 25) is the last song that Juice Wrld officially previewed before his passing in 2019 by uploading the song to his Instagram account. The song was also revealed with a Thriller video shot by Chris Long Films, which was revealed on November 30, 2019.

The track was officially leaked a year later, on August 9, 2020, but Juice's representatives have not officially confirmed whether Made It Work will ever be officially released.

Quick Links

App download animated image Get the free App now