⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

Every WWE Superstar of the Year (2008-2015): Where are they now?

Danny Hart
Modified 21 Dec 2019, 01:14 IST

John Cena is a three-time Superstar of the Year winner
John Cena is a three-time Superstar of the Year winner

When it comes to achievements in WWE, many Superstars say in out-of-character interviews that their main career goal is to headline WrestleMania one day.

Other than that, winning a World Championship is often mentioned as another career target, while a select few people have had the honour of winning WWE’s Superstar of the Year Award.

In 2008, the category returned as the top prize in the annual Slammy Awards, and it remained a regular feature every December until WWE stopped producing the ceremony in 2016.

We recently revisited WWE’s end-of-year awards by taking a look at eight Breakout Superstars of the Year (2008-2018) to find out where they are now.

In this article, let’s look at the very best of the best in WWE by finding out what every Superstar of the Year (2008-2015) is up to in 2019.

#6 Chris Jericho (2008)

In 2008, WWE decided to reintroduce the Slammy Awards for the first time since 1997. The top category, Superstar of the Year, was won by Chris Jericho, who beat Batista, Edge, Jeff Hardy, John Cena and Triple H to the prestigious award.

Jericho began the year as one of several Superstars involved in the Intercontinental Championship picture, and he ended it with another two World Heavyweight Championship reigns and as the top villain in the wrestling business.

Much of Jericho’s 2008 revolved around his phenomenal rivalry with Shawn Michaels, while he also had some memorable World Heavyweight Championship battles with Batista and Cena.


Chris Jericho in 2019

Eleven years later, Jericho is a legitimate contender to be crowned Wrestler of the Year in 2019.

The nine-time WWE Intercontinental Champion signed with AEW in January and immediately cemented his status as the top name in the company by defeating Kenny Omega in the main event of the Double or Nothing pay-per-view.

He has since defeated Adam Page at All Out to become the inaugural AEW World Champion, and he retained his title against Cody Rhodes at Full Gear and against Darby Allin and Scorpio Sky on Dynamite.

1 / 6 NEXT
Published 03 Dec 2019, 21:44 IST
Fetching more content...