Most Ducks In World Cup

Last Modified Jul 15, 2019 13:37 IST

One of the most hated dubious record is scoring the most ducks in cricket world cup. Scoring a duck is embarrassing even for a bowler with negligible batting skills. Creating this record in a World Cup tournament is even worse.

Not only bowlers, there have also been some batsmen who have scored the most ducks in World Cup. Interestingly, the highest number is 4, by none other than AB de Villiers! The South African legend achieved this dubious feat in the 2007 World Cup held in the Caribbean. Even then, he averaged over 35 in the tournament.

Here is the complete list of players with most ducks in World Cup:

Most Ducks In Cricket World Cup Series Year Wise :

2019Nuwan PradeepSri Lanka33211*0.5
2015Krishna ChandranUAE55338347.6
2011Shem NgocheKenya333000
2007AB de VilliersSouth Africa1010437214637.2
2003Nathan AstleNew Zealand77321310242.6
1999Akram KhanBangladesh552624212.4
1996Keith ArthurtonWest Indies553210.4
1992Kris SrikkanthIndia8831174016.71
1987Winston BenjaminWest Indies5421585
1983Arjuna RanatungaSri Lanka663803413.33
1979Mike BrearleyEngland5521616432.2
1975Harilal ShahEast Africa332662

Other players like Arjuna Ranatunga (1983 for Sri Lanka), Kris Srikkanth (1992 for India), Keith Arthurton (1996 for West Indies), Nathan Astle (2003 for New Zealand), Shem Ngoche (2011 for Kenya) and Krishna Chandran (2015 for UAE) have scored 3 ducks in a single edition of the tournament.

The remaining World Cups, ie 1975, 1979, 1987, 1999 and 2019 editions did not see anybody getting more than 2 ducks. Harilal Shah (1975 for East Africa), Mike Brearley (1979 for England), Winston Benjamin (1987 for West Indies), Akram Khan (1999 for Bangladesh) and Nuwan Pradeep (2019 for Sri Lanka) scored 2 ducks.

Super Eight - New Zealand v South Africa - Cricket World Cup 2007

Take a look at the list of Most Ducks in World Cups (Overall)

Most Ducks in Cricket World Cups (Overall) :

1996-2003Nathan AstleNew Zealand5222220.15
1987-1999Ijaz AhmedPakistan5292623.45
2007-2007Kyle McCallanIreland4984.71
2011-2019Darren BravoWest Indies4111023.5
1992-1999Keith ArthurtonWest Indies4141320.08
2007-2015AB de VilliersSouth Africa4232263.52
1983-1992K SrikkanthIndia4232323.68
2007-2019Eoin MorganEngland/Ireland4292725.84
2011-2011Shem NgocheKenya3330

Also Read : Cricket World cup hat trick