Favorites Edit

Hockey Champions Trophy 2016 Schedule: Download PDF of match fixtures with full time table & venue details

2.36K   //    01 Jun 2016, 16:14 IST
Sardar Singh Indian hockey team 2016
The Sardar-Singh led Indian hockey side will compete with 5 other nations

An FIH event, the Champions Trophy will begin in London, England on the 10th of June, 2016, with six nations each competing for gold in the men’s and women’s events.  The event was instituted in 1978 and this year will see its 38th edition.

Teams compete in a round robin format, at the end of which the top two teams play each other for gold.

Australia, who are currently ranked 1st in the international hockey rankings and have been a powerful side this season, are the most successful men's side at the Champions Trophy, winning 13 titles.

The women’s side are also the most successful in the women’s edition, holding a joint highest of six Champions Trophy titles with the Netherlands and Argentina. While the 8th-ranked Indian side will be participating in the men's tournament, the women’s side will not be a part of the event.

The Indian team recently finished second to Australia at Malaysia’s Sultan Azlan Shah Cup, a tournament that the Kookaburras dominated in its entirety. They still currently look to be the favourites to win the tournament, although India's young talent has been impressive at recent events and could provide some form of competition.

India, Germany, Belgium, Korea, Great Britain and Australia will be among the sides in the men’s tournament, while women’s teams from the United States, Argentina, Australia, Great Britain, New Zealand and the Netherlands will take part.

The Hockey Champions Trophy was an annual event until 2012, when it became a biennial one instead. The last tournament, held in Bhubhaneshwar in 2014, saw Germany sweep their tenth title with a 2-0 defeat of Pakistan in the finals.

Men’s Tournament Complete Schedule:

6/10/2016Pool16:00GER - IND
 Pool18:00BEL - KOR
 Pool20:00GBR - AUS
6/11/2016Pool14:00GER - BEL
 Pool16:00IND - GBR
 Pool18:00AUS - KOR
6/13/2016Pool12:00KOR - GBR
 Pool14:00GER - AUS
 Pool16:00BEL - IND
6/14/2016Pool16:00IND - KOR
 Pool18:00AUS - BEL
 Pool20:00GBR - GER
6/16/2016Pool16:00AUS - IND
 Pool18:00KOR - GER
 Pool20:00GBR - BEL
6/17/20165th - 6th Place15:45-
 3rd - 4th Place18:00-
 1st - 2nd Place20:15-

Women Tournament Complete Schedule:

6/18/2016Pool12:00USA - AUS
 Pool14:00ARG - GBR
 Pool16:00NED - NZL
6/19/2016Pool12:00USA - ARG
 Pool14:00NED - GBR
 Pool16:00AUS - NZL
6/21/2016Pool14:30AUS - ARG
 Pool18:00NED - USA
 Pool20:00NZL - GBR
6/23/2016Pool14:30ARG - NZL
 Pool18:00AUS - NED
 Pool20:00GBR - USA
6/25/2016Pool12:00ARG - NED
 Pool14:00NZL - USA
 Pool16:00GBR - AUS
6/26/20165th - 6th Place14:00-
 3rd - 4th Place16:15-
 1st - 2nd Place18:30-
Topics you might be interested in:
Tennis, Formula One, motorsports and running editor at Sportskeeda. Serious F1 enthusiast and data collector, Senna fan, swimmer, runner and musician. Contactable at:
Fetching more content...