Germany Hockey


Prominent PlayersMartin Häner


The Germany Men's National Field Hockey Team is one of the most successful hockey teams in the world as they have won gold medal at the Summer Olympics on four occasions (including once as West Germany), the Hockey World Cup twice, the EuroHockey Nations Championship eight times (including twice as West Germany) and the Hockey Champions Trophy nine times (including three times as West Germany).

Apart from four gold medals, the team has also won three silver and four bronze as well. They have such consistent performance in the World Cup, Champions Trophy and EuroHockey Nations Championship as well.

Currently, the Germany Men's National Field Hockey Team is placed at the sixth position in the FIH rankings.

Low points

After causing an upset in the 2002 Men's Hockey World Cup where they defeated Australia 2–1 with the help of striker Olivier Domke scoring the winner after Germany came back from being 1–0 down, they went to a transition period. The Germans finished lowly in the 2003 Men's Hockey Champions Trophy and the 2004 Men's Hockey Champions Trophy with several inexperienced players in their squad.

Coach Bernhard Peters then took the responsibility to nurture the players such as Christopher Zeller, Moritz Fürste and Timo Wess for the 2006 World Cup, and was successful as the Germans won the Men's Hockey World Cup. They defeated Australia 4–3 in the final in Mönchengladbach. Bernhard Peters left the team in order to pursue a career in football and is now a staff member at TSG 1899 Hoffenheim.

On November 6, 2006 Markus Wiese was appointed as the new head coach and the success at the 2007 Men's Hockey Champions Trophy and a gold medal at the 2008 Beijing Olympics followed this up. Germany headed into the 2010 Men's Hockey World Cup with a largely young and inexperienced squad, but managed to reach its finals after strong performances throughout the tournament. In the final, they were defeated 2–1 by Australia.

Current Roster

The following is the German roster in the men's field hockey:

Nicolas Jacobi (GK), Mathias Muller, Linus Butt, Martin Haner (Captain), Moritz Tromperts, Mats Grambusch, Tobias Hauke, Tom Grambusch, Christopher Ruhr, Martin Zwicker, Moritz Fürste, Florian Fuchs, Timur Oruz, Niklas Wellen.


Tobias Walter (GK), Oskar Deecke, Oliver Korn

Support Staff

Association: Deutscher Hockey-Bund

(German Hockey Federation)

Confederation: EHF (Europe)

Coach: Stefans Kermas

Manager: Eric Verboom

Fetching more content...