New User posted their first comment

Super Featherweight

Super Featherweight (also known as junior lightweight) is a weight class in professional boxing. Weight classes are categories in which competition is divided into to match competitors of the same size against each other. In professional boxing, super featherweight boxers weigh between 126 pounds (57 kg) and 130 pounds (59 kg).

This division was established in 1920 by the New York Walker Law. However, it was the New York State Athletic Commission (NYSAC) that founded the division in 1930. "Battling Kid" Nelson was the first English champion of the division and was crowned in 1914. He later lost the title in 1915 to Benny Berger. In 1917, the title was won by Artie O'Leary. There were two periods in which this weight class was presented, one from 1921 to 1933 and the other from 1960 to the present.

The record for the most consecutive title defenses is set at 12 by Brian Mitchell while defending his WBA title between 1986-1991. Vasyl Lomachenko, Flash Elorde, Alexis Argüello, Azumah Nelson, Julio César Chávez, Diego Corrales, Floyd Mayweather Jr., Érik Morales, Marco Antonio Barrera, Acelino Freitas, Juan Manuel Márquez, Oscar De La Hoya, Rocky Lockridge, Manny Pacquiao and Adrien Broner are other decorated champions from this division.

The following table lists the current title holders of the division.

Sanctioning BodyReign BeganChampionRecordDefenses
WBA (Super)


WBA (Regular)October 21, 2017Aberto Machado19-0 (16 KO)0
WBCJanuary 29, 2017Miguel Berchelt33-1 (29 KO)2
IBFDecember 9, 2017Kenichi Ogawa23-1 (17 KO)0
WBOJune 11, 2016Vasyl Lomachenko10-1 (8 KO)4

Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now