Boston Red Sox


Full NameBoston Red Sox

Nick NameThe Sox


GroundAlex Cora

Team Owner(s)Fenway Sports Group


The Boston Red Sox is a baseball team based in Boston, they compete in the MLB as a part of the East Division of the American League. The team was founded in 1901 as one of the League's eight charter franchises. Fenway Park has been the home ballpark since 1912. They have won nine World Series Championships, tied for the third-most of any MLB team. They are also called "The Sox" or "The BoSox."


Boston Red Sox History

In 1901, the league created a franchise in Boston, called the "Boston Americans,” owned by C.W. Somers to compete with the National League. In April 1904, the team was purchased by John I. Taylor. In December 1907, Taylor proposed that the Boston Americans' name be changed to the Boston Red Sox. Anchored by an outfield including Tris Speaker, Harry Hooper, Duffy Lewis, and pitcher Smoky Joe Wood, the Red Sox beat the New York Giants 4–3–1 in the 1912 World Series best known for Snodgrass's Muff. From 1913 to 1916 the Red Sox were owned by Joseph Lannin. In 1914, Lannin signed a young up-and-coming pitcher named Babe Ruth from the Baltimore Orioles of the International League and this signing led the team to a couple of World Series Championships in the following years.

Boston Red Sox in recent years

In 2002, the Red Sox were sold by Yawkey trustee and president Harrington to New England Sports Ventures. The 2003 team was known as the "Cowboy Up" team, a nickname derived from first baseman Kevin Millar's challenge to his teammates to show more determination. The team then faced the Yankees in the 2003 American League Championship Series but couldn’t seal the victory. In 2004, Boston became the first team in MLB history to force a series-deciding Game 7 after trailing 3–0 in games. The Red Sox completed their historic comeback in Game 7 with a 10–3 victory over the Yankees. The Red Sox swept the St. Louis Cardinals in the 2004 World Series. It was the Red Sox's first championship in 86 years.

The Red Sox faced the Colorado Rockies in the 2007 World Series and swept the Rockies in four games. From 2008-to 2012 the Red Sox couldn’t put up a notable performance as they had injury-ridden seasons leading to collapses. In 2013, the team finished the season going 97–65, they proceeded to defeat the St. Louis Cardinals in the 2013 World Series. The Red Sox became the first team since the 1991 Minnesota Twins to win the World Series a year after finishing in last place, and the second overall. Then in 2018, Boston defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers (92–71) in five games in the World Series, for the team's fourth championship in 15 years and ninth in franchise history. The team's motto during the season, "do damage," became "damage done" upon their victory. After leaving in 2018, Alex Cora returned as manager for the 2021 season. The Red Sox defeated the Yankees in the AL Wild Card Game, and defeated the Rays in the Division Series, but were eliminated by the Astros in the League Championship Series.

Boston Red Sox past 10 seasons MLB record

Year LeagueFinish Wins Loses Playoffs
2011AL East Division3rd 9072-
2012AL East Division5th6993-
2013AL East Division1st9765 Won WS vs. St.Louis Cardinals(4-2)
2014AL East Division5th7191-
2015AL East Division5th7884-
2016AL East Division1st9369Lost ALDS vs. Cleveland Indians(3-0)
2017AL East Division1st9369Lost ALDS vs. Houston Astros (3-1)
2018AL East Division1st10854Won WS vs. Los Angeles Dodgers(4-1)
2019AL East Division3rd8478-
2020AL East Division5th2436-
2021AL East Division2nd9270Lost ALCS vs.Houston Astros(4-2)
2022AL East Division4th711-

Boston Red Sox World Series Championships

The franchise has won 9 world series championships under the Boston Americans and the Boston Red Sox name.

1903Pittsburgh Pirates5-3
1912New York Giants4-3-1
1915Philadelphia Phillies4-1
1916Brooklyn Robins 4-1
1918Chicago Cubs4-2
2004St.Louis Cardinals4-0
2007Colorado Rockies 4-0
2013St.Louis Cardinals4-2
2018Los Angeles Dodgers 4-1

Current Boston Red Sox Roster MLB - 2022

Pitchers CatchersInfielders Outfielders
Matt Barnes 32Kevin Plawecki 25Christian Arroyo 39Jackie Bradley Jr. 19
Ryan Brasier 70Christian Vázquez 7Xander Bogaerts 2Enrique Hernández 5
Tyler Danish 60 Bobby Dalbec 29J.D. Martinez 28
Austin Davis 56 Rafael Devers 11Rob Refsnyder 30
Jake Diekman 31 Travis Shaw 23Alex Verdugo 99
Nathan Eovaldi 17 Trevor Story 10
Rich Hill 44
Nick Pivetta 37
Hansel Robles 57
Hirokazu Sawamura 18
John Schreiber 46
Matt Strahm 55
Phillips Valdez 71
Michael Wacha 52
Garrett Whitlock 72

Owner: John Henry

Home Stadium: Fenway Park

Manager: Alex Cora

Bench Coach & Outfield Instructor: Bill Venable

Hitting Coach: Peter Fatse

Asst. Hitting Coach: Luis Ortiz & Ben Rosenthal

Pitching Coach: Dave Bush

Bullpen Coach: Kevin Walker

Catching Coach: Jason Varitek

Fetching more content...