Dindigul Dragons



Team Owner(s)TAKE Solutions

Prominent PlayersRavichandran Ashwin


Adithya Ganesh Wicketkeeper Left Handed 31
Affan Khader Batsman Right Handed 27
Hemanth Kumar Batsman Right Handed 23
Baba Indrajith Batsman Right Handed 28
Shivam Singh Batsman Right Handed 27
R Vimal Khumar Batsman Left Handed 22
S Arun All Rounder Right Handed -
Ravichandran Ashwin All Rounder Right Handed 36
VP Diran All Rounder Right Handed -
Advaith Sharma Bowler Right Arm 24
Kishoor Bowler Right Arm 23
M Mathivanan Bowler Left Arm 22
P Saravan Kumar Bowler Right Arm 33
Varun Chakravarthy Bowler Right Arm 31

Dindigul Dragons is a franchise team which plays in the Tamil Nadu Premier League. The team is one of the eight teams of the league and is based in the city of Dindigul, Tamil Nadu. Although the team has been playing in TNPL right from the inaugural season in 2016, it has not been able to move ahead of semifinals in the tournament. The Dindigul Dragons are led by the prominent Indian off spinner, Ravichandran Ashwin, who is more or less a non playing captain for them.


The Dragons are owned by TAKE Solutions company, which bought the franchise of the Dindigul team in 2016. Ravichandran Ashwin has been leading the team since its inception and will continue to do so in the 2018 season. The head coach of the team is M. Venkataramana, who is a former Indian cricketer.

Performance History

The first season of TNPL in 2016 proved out to be a great one for Dindigul Dragons. The team, led by V Subramaniam Siva in its initial matches, showed a great play in the tournament. They won their first four matches with ease and even defeated the to be champions of that season, Tuti Patriots in a super over.

The Dragons eventually finished second in the points table, and faced Tuti Patriots in the semi finals. Unfortunately, their captain Ravichandran Ashwin had to miss that match and that brought an end to their journey in the 2016 Tamil Nadu Premier League.

In the 2017 season of the tournament, the Dragons were led by a new player, Ashwin Venkataraman. Their start in the tournament was soured by Tuti Patriots, who defeated them in their inaugural match. The team gained its momentum and won its next match against Madurai Super Giants by 10 wickets. But the Dindigul Dragons lost all of their remaining matches and finished sixth in the points table.

The Dindigul Dragons will play their first match of the 2018 edition of TNPL against Ruby Trichy Warriors. Fortunately for them, their regular captain will be playing the initial matches before leaving for England. In Ashwin's absence, the team will be led by Narayan Jagadeesan, who is one of the two players (other being Ravichandran Ashwin) to have been retained by the franchise this year.

Notable Achievements

Narayan Jagadeesan, the vice-captain holds the record for scoring most fifties in a particular season. He had scored five fifties in the 2016 season of TNPL with 87 as the highest score. This record has not been even touched in TNPL history.

Jagadeesan also holds the record for taking most dismissals in a season of TNPL. He had made 12 dismissals in 2016 season of TNPL.

YearFinal PositionCaptainHighest ScorerHighest Wicket-takerWin %Largest WinSmallest Win
2016Semi FinalsRavichandran. AshwinNarayan Jagadeesan (397 runs)Murugan Ashwin (8 wickets)50.00%Won by 48 runs against Ruby Trichy WarriorsWon by 14 runs against Madurai Super Giants
2017Sixth PlaceR. AshwinV Ganga Sreedhar Raju (158 runs)T Natarajan (9 wickets)28.57 %Won by 10 wickets against Madurai Super GiantsWon by 23 runs against Ruby Trichy Warriors

Fetching more content...