Germany Women's Hockey


The Germany Women's Hockey team falls under European Hockey Federation and is associated to Deutscher Hockey-Bund (German Hockey Federation).

The Germany Women's Hockey team played one of their first major tournaments at the 1974 World Cup, where they were positioned third in the final standings. The team started representing Germany as a whole from the year 1991. They won their first gold medal at the 2004 Summer Olympics in Athens, Greece, by defeating the Netherlands in the final.


The Germany Women's Hockey team has been placed runners-up in 1984 and 1992 in the Summer Olympics. They have won the 1976 and 1981 World Cup and have been runners-up in 1978 and 1986. Apart from this they have won the European Nations Cup in 2007 and 2013. The 2006 Champions Trophy was also won by the Germans, along with Champions Challenge in 2003.

2018 World Cup

The Germany Women's Hockey team are in Pool C along with Argentina, South Africa and Spain. They have a great World Cup history and are 6th on the FIH World Rankings with a strong squad who are expected to be aiming for the trophy.

World Cup Squad

Amelie Wortmann, Nike Lorenz , Selin Oruz, Hannah Gablac, Anne Schröder, Elisa Gräve, Lena Micheel, Charlotte Stapenhorst, Janne Müller-Wieland(Captain), Nathalie Kubalski(GK), Jana Teschke, Lisa Altenburg, Maike Schaunig, Julia Ciupka(GK), Franzisca Hauke, Cecile Pieper, Marie Mävers and Viktoria Huse.

Fetching more content...