South Korea Women's Hockey Team


The Korea women's national field hockey team represents the Republic of Korea in international field hockey competitions. They are ranked 9th in the World FIH rankings.


Field hockey was introduced in the country in 1947 but the women counterpart had to wait until late 1970s to early 1980s to participate in major competitions. The hockey team is governed by the Korea Hockey Association.

The first major tournament that the team participated in was the 1982 Asian Games where they won the silver medal.


The South Korean hockey team is a regular in the world and has appeared in every edition since 1990. Their best finish in the World Cup was in their first ever participation in the tournament, where they came third and won the bronze medal.


The current squad is managed by Hong Kyung-suep and is coached by Huh Sang-young. The squad is as follows:-

2. Choi Su-ji

4. Kim Young-ran (CAP)

5. Lee Yu-rim

6. Bae So-ra (GK)

8. An Hyo-ju

10. Park Mih-yun

11. Park Seung-a

12. Lee Young-sil

13. Cho Eun-ji

14. Cho Yun-kyoung

16. Cheon Seul-ki

17. Kim Ok-ju

18. Kim Bo-mi

19. Cho Hye-jin

21. Shin Hye-jeong

22. Jang Hee-sun

23. Lee Yu-ri

31. Hwang Hyeon-a (GK)

They are drawn alongside Netherlands, Italy, and China in Pool A of the 2018 World Cup.

Fetching more content...