New South Wales Breakers Cricket

New South Wales Breakers Cricket

Team Information

Founded 1996
Ground Sydney Cricket & Sports Ground Trust, Sydney, Bankstown Oval


Full Squad

New South Wales Breakers Cricket Bio

New South Wales Breakers is the most successful Australian women’s domestic cricket team in the 50-over competition called Women’s National Cricket League that occurs annually. As it is evident from the name, it represents the New South Wales state in the competition. It is one of the seven teams that fight it out to win the Ruth Preddey Cup by winning the Final of the 50-over competition.

The New South Wales Breakers team is one of the five teams participating in the competition since the first season way back in 1996/97.


The Breakers have won the title way more number of times than any other team. To be precise, they have won it 20 out of 23 times. They even shared an unbelievable streak of 10 wins from 2005/06 to 2014/15. They currently enjoy a streak of 3 consecutive title wins after the 2018/19 season.

WNCL One Day Final - NSW v QLD

Club Trajectory

They have a trajectory that does has not been matched by any other team in the world probably any other cricketing league. They can boast of utter dominance in the tournament. They started their National Cricket League campaign with six consecutive championship wins.

Victoria Women's Team then interrupted their streak by winning a competition in 2002/03, losing to them in the next Final and again winning it in 2004/05. The Breakers then went on to enjoy their best-ever streak of 10 years as Champions.

They once qualified for the Finals in 2015/16 but lost to South Australia. This was just a blip in their performance on that day, which was proven by them by winning the next three titles. They are surely the team to watch out for in the upcoming 2019/20 edition of the Women’s National Cricket League.

App download animated image Get the free App now