South Africa Hockey


Nick NameAmaStokkie

Prominent PlayersTim Drummond, Dayaan Cassiem, Taylor Dart


South Africa men’s hockey team, representing South Africa at international field hockey matches and tournaments, qualified for their sixth World Cup after beating Egypt in a closely contested final at the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations that took place in Ismailia, Egypt.

When it comes to Hockey World Cup appearances, the South Africa men’s team has played at every World Cup since 1994, with the exception of 1998. They have finished 10th twice (1994 and 2010), 12th (2006), 13th in 2002 and 11th in the last edition in 2014.

South Africa are currently ranked 15th in the world and will be hopeful of a successful return to top flight competition after a few years of mediocre performances and the inevitable slide down the rankings.

Current Roster

The FIH Hockey World Cup takes place in Bhubaneswar in India from the 28 November until the 16 December this year. With the FIH Vitality Hockey Women’s World Cup completed this past weekend, the eyes of the International hockey audience will shift to India for the 14th edition of the men’s showpiece.

Support Staff

  1. Head coach : Mark Hopkins
  2. Convenor of Selectors : Allistar Fredericks
  3. High-performance director: David Viney

1Tim Drummond (Captain)Kwazulu Natal131
2Dayaan CassiemSouth Africa U2117
3Taylor DartSouthern Gauteng18
4Tyson DlungwanaNorthern Gauteng18
5Jethro EusticeKwazulu Natal95
6Rhett HalkettWestern Province148
7Tommy HammondSouthern Gauteng21
8Keenan HorneWestern Province34
9Julian HykesSouthern Gauteng122
10Gowan Jones (Goalkeeper)Kwazulu Natal42
11Peabo LembetheNorthern Gauteng0
12Mohamed MeaKwazulu Natal14
13Nqobile NtuliKwazulu Natal26
14Taine PatonKwazulu Natal104
15Richard PautzSouthern Gauteng16
16Rassie Pieterse (Goalkeeper)Southern Gauteng133
17Austin SmithWestern Province158
18Nic SpoonerSouthern Gauteng1

Additional Squad Players

1Tevin KokNorthern Gauteng20
2Michael AbrahamsEastern Province0
3Melrick MaddocksFree State5
4Alex StewartWestern Province2
5Mark ChongSouth Africa U210
6Siya Nolutshungu (GK)Eastern Province6
7Sam MvimbiSouth Africa U210
8Andrew HobsonSouth Africa U213
9Thabang ModiseSouthern Gauteng0
10Matt de SousaKwazulu Natal1
11Rusten AbrahamsSouthern Gauteng3
12Chris MakabaSouth Africa U210

Fetching more content...