Sunderland Association Football Club is an English association football club based in Sunderland. This premier League club was founded in 1879 as 'Sunderland and District Teachers A.F.C.' by schoolmaster James Allan. They joined The Football League for the 1890–91 season. Sunderland won the league championship in the 1891–92 season, one season after joining The Football League. On 5 December 1908, Sunderland achieved their highest ever league win, against north-east rivals Newcastle United. Sunderland returned to the Premier League as First Division champions in 1999 with a then-record 105 points. Sunderland won their first FA Cup in 1937 with a 3–1 victory over Preston North End, and remained in the top league for 68 successive seasons until they were relegated for the first time in 1958. In July 2011, Sunderland signed a partnership agreement with Ghanaian club Asante Kotok. Sunderland's most notable trophy after the Second World War was their second FA Cup in 1973, when the club secured a 1–0 victory over Leeds United.. Sunderland play their home games at the 49,000 capacity all-seater Stadium of Light. Sunderland have a long-standing rivalry with their neighbouring club Newcastle United, with whom they have contested the Tyne-Wear derby since 1898. Some of teh club's notable players include: Michael Gray, Andy Melville, Allan Johnston, Nicky Summerbee, Kevin Phillips, Darren Williams, Kieran Richardson, Dean Whitehead, Marcus Stewart etc
Fetching more content...