Swansea City


Full NameSwansea City

Nick NameThe Swans


GroundLiberty Stadium

Team Owner(s)Jason Levien & Steven Kaplan

Prominent PlayersLeroy Fer, Nathan Dyer, Wayne Routledge


Swansea City Association Football Club is a Welsh professional football club based in the city of Swansea, south Wales that play in the Premier League. The club was founded in 1912 as Swansea Town and joined the Football League in 1921. The club changed their name in 1969, when it adopted the name Swansea City to reflect Swansea's new status as a city. They were promoted to the original Football League First Division in 1981. The Swansea City Supporters Society Ltd owns 20% of the club. They play their home matches at the Liberty Stadium. Swansea City's main rivals are Cardiff City, with the rivalry described as among the most hostile in British football. To a lesser extent, Swansea City's other rivals are Bristol City, Bristol Rovers, and Newport County. On 24 February 2013, Swansea beat Bradford City 5-0 to win the 2012-13 Football League Cup,winning the first major trophy in the club's history and qualifying the Swans for the 2013-14 UEFA Europa League. This resulted in Swansea becoming the first Welsh side to qualify for the tournament and the second one to do so in a European competition. Some of the club's famous players include: Kyle Bartley, Neil Taylor, Ashley Williams, Wayne Routledge, Garry Monk, Gerhard Tremmel, Lee Lucas etc
Fetching more content...