All Vinland Saga arcs in chronological order

All Vinland Saga Arcs in detail. (image via Sportskeeda)
All Vinland Saga arcs in detail. (Image via Sportskeeda)

Vinland Saga is a historical action and adventure series adapted from Makoto Yukimura's manga of the same name. The widely renouned show, which is one of the best new-generation anime series, does a fantastic job of capturing Viking culture. Wit Studio first adapted the series, and now Mappa is animating it. After the first season's spectacular finish, fans eagerly anticipated the second season of the anime, which just recently debuted on January 9, 2023.

The manga claims that Vinland Saga is divided into four sections or arcs. These arcs include the War Arc, the Slave Arc, the Eastern Expedition Arc, and the Vinland Saga Arc. The War Arc was adapted for the first season, while the Slave Arc marked the official start of the second. In chronological order, this article will provide a thorough overview of every present arc in Vinland Saga.

A thorough understanding of every arc in the series Vinland Saga

1) The War Arc

This manga arc, which premiered in 2019, starts with chapter 1 and lasts until chapter 54. This is the first arc of the manga series which was adapted for animation in Vinland Saga's debut season. 24 anime episodes were produced to cover 54 chapters of the arc.

Thorfinn, the primary character, was shown as a young kid who witnessed his father's murder and vowed vengeance on Askeladd, the murderer. To become the strongest warrior possible, he devoted his entire life to training and slaughtering tens of thousands of men. Thorfinn intended to approach Askeladd and offer a challenge in order to get revenge.

The Viking Culture was introduced to the audience in the first season of the show, which made the historical adventure series quickly gain prominence among anime fans. The anime currently has an average IMDB fan rating of 8.8, which is sufficient to demonstrate the potential of the series.

2) The Slave Arc

The second arc of the manga, titled The Slave Arc aka Farmland Arc, is included in Vinland Saga's second season of the anime. The arc begins with chapter 55 and continues until chapter 99 of the manga. The new season, which is animated by Mappa Studios, is scheduled to include 24 episodes and span the entire 45-chapter arc.

The Slave Arc takes place immediately following the conclusion of the War Arc. Thorfinn's new life after being sold into slavery at Ketil's Farm is depicted in the arc. This is where he meets Einar, his new companion, who plays a major role in the storyline from hereon. Throughout the arc, Thorfinn does a lot of soul-searching as he reflects on his past mistakes and gets closer to understanding his father's message.

Thorfinn and Einar as seen in Vinland season 2 trailer (Image via MAPPA)
Thorfinn and Einar as seen in Vinland season 2 trailer (Image via MAPPA)

Ruler Canute, the king of England and Denmark, is also a key character in the narrative. The concept of the Crown Curse and the challenges of Canute and his vision of turning Earth into a paradise where everyone can live in harmony is also explored in The Slave Arc

3) The Eastern Expedition Arc

The Eastern Expedition Arc is the manga series' third arc, which begins with chapter 100 and continues until chapter 166 of the manga, following Thorfinn as he returns back for the first time in many years.

Thus, Homecoming is the title of the first chapter in this arc. Since Slave Arc is currently being animated in the anime's second season, it is expected that this arc will be featured in the anime's third season.

The plot of this arc focuses on Thorfinn and Einar's dream of Vinland, which prompts them to go to Greece in order to secure funding for their big plan. The storyline includes a variety of new characters as Thorfinn picks up a number of new companions along the journey. However, danger is never far behind, as Halfdan's son Sigurd follows them to Greece.

4) The Vinland Saga Arc

The Vinland Saga Arc is the concluding arc of the magnificent series. This arc is named after the main series, which emphasizes that it is the climax of Thorfinn's storyline. It begins with chapter 167 and is not yet complete. However, the Vinland Arc, according to mangaka Makoto Yukimura, would have more than 1000 pages and 50 chapters.

Voyage to the West is the title of the final arc's first chapter. The narrative follows Thorfinn as he travels to Vinland, where he encounters more challenges than he may have already imagined.

As much as it is disheartening that the final arc of the manga series will end soon, fans of Vinland Saga are enthusiastic to witness the final voyage and grand conclusion to the epic story of the Vinland Saga, which is expected to be the best arc among all the others because it will wrap up the entire tale.

A better understanding of the series Vinland Saga


Vinland Saga is a remarkable masterwork that brilliantly displays Viking culture. Vikings, also known as Norseman or Northmen, were Scandinavian seafaring warriors who invaded and settled in a large portion of Europe between the 9th and 11th centuries.

Their disruptive impact had a significant impact on European history. This historical adventure manga-anime series contains references to several real-life events, timelines, and historical characters, making it even more fascinating.

Vinland Saga tells the tale of Thorfinn, a young boy who dreamed of exploring Vinland after hearing tales from Leif Erikson. But after witnessing the murder of his father at the hands of Askeladd, his life underwent a significant transformation. The little boy's once pure dream was tainted by his bloody vision.


He changed his life's purpose and committed himself to becoming the best warrior he could be. He devoted his entire life to training and killing tens of thousands of men in order to kill Askeladd in a fair duel and get his revenge. But eventually, his sole motive for living, the chance to seek payback, was taken away from him, and ultimately he was sold as a slave.

Following that, the Slave Arc continues the narrative, and as it develops, the plot becomes more intense with the introduction of all the subsequent arcs, building to the narrative's grand climax, the Vinland Saga Arc.