1983 World Cup

Last Modified Jun 18, 2021 13:15 IST

The Cricket World Cup began in 1975 in England with Prudential Assurance Company being the primary sponsor of the tournament. It is an event played every four years in the ODI format of the game. The Australian cricket team has achieved the biggest success with as many as 5 World Cup titles to their name followed by West Indies and India with two each. West Indies won the first-ever edition and England are the defending champions after winning the latest edition in 2019.

Table Of Contents

  1. 1983 World Cup History
  2. 1983 Prudential World Cup Schedule
  3. 1983 World Cup Format
  4. Cricket World Cup 1983 Points Table
  5. 1983 World Cup Teams
  6. 1983 World Cup Winner
  7. FAQs

1983 World Cup

1983 World Cup History

The 1983 World Cup was the third edition of the 50-over tournament contested by all the Test-playing nations joined by a few minor countries. It found a new winner apart from the two-time champions West Indies, with Kapil Dev and his men lifting the trophy at Lord’s. It was the final edition with ODIs played for 60 overs rather than 50. Two groups of four teams each started the tournament which consisted of 27 matches played over 17 days in the month of June.

Check out this video where Former Indian Prime Minister Mrs.Indira Gandhi celebrates with Team India after winning the Cricket world Cup 1983.


1983 Prudential World Cup Schedule

Date (1896)MatchVenueResult
Jun 09, ThuENGLAND vs NEW ZEALANDKennington Oval, LondonEngland won by 106 runs5:30 AM
Jun 09, ThuPAKISTAN vs SRI LANKASt Helen's, SwanseaPakistan won by 50 runs5:30 AM
Jun 09, ThuAUSTRALIA vs ZIMBABWETrent Bridge, NottinghamZimbabwe won by 13 runs5:30 AM
Jun 09, ThuINDIA vs WEST INDIESEmirates Old Trafford, ManchesterIndia won by 34 runs5:30 AM
Jun 11, SatINDIA vs ZIMBABWEGrace Road, LeicesterIndia won by 5 wickets (with 135 balls remaining)5:30 AM
Jun 11, SatAUSTRALIA vs WEST INDIESHeadingley, LeedsWest Indies won by 101 runs5:30 AM
Jun 11, SatNEW ZEALAND vs PAKISTANEdgbaston, BirminghamNew Zealand won by 52 runs5:30 AM
Jun 11, SatENGLAND vs SRI LANKAThe Cooper Associates County Ground, TauntonEngland won by 47 runs5:30 AM
Jun 13, MonENGLAND vs PAKISTANLord's, LondonEngland won by 8 wickets (with 56 balls remaining)5:30 AM
Jun 13, MonNEW ZEALAND vs SRI LANKACounty Ground, BristolNew Zealand won by 5 wickets (with 124 balls remaining)5:30 AM
Jun 13, MonAUSTRALIA vs INDIATrent Bridge, NottinghamAustralia won by 162 runs5:30 AM
Jun 13, MonWEST INDIES vs ZIMBABWENew Road, WorcesterWest Indies won by 8 wickets (with 69 balls remaining)5:30 AM
Jun 15, WedINDIA vs WEST INDIESKennington Oval, LondonWest Indies won by 66 runs5:30 AM
Jun 15, WedENGLAND vs NEW ZEALANDEdgbaston, BirminghamNew Zealand won by 2 wickets (with 1 ball remaining)5:30 AM
Jun 16, ThuPAKISTAN vs SRI LANKAHeadingley, LeedsPakistan won by 11 runs5:30 AM
Jun 16, ThuAUSTRALIA vs ZIMBABWECounty Ground, SouthamptonAustralia won by 32 runs5:30 AM
Jun 18, SatENGLAND vs PAKISTANEmirates Old Trafford, ManchesterEngland won by 7 wickets (with 16 balls remaining)5:30 AM
Jun 18, SatNEW ZEALAND vs SRI LANKACounty Ground, DerbySri Lanka won by 3 wickets (with 43 balls remaining)5:30 AM
Jun 18, SatAUSTRALIA vs WEST INDIESLord's, LondonWest Indies won by 7 wickets (with 13 balls remaining)5:30 AM
Jun 18, SatINDIA vs ZIMBABWENevill Ground, Tunbridge WellsIndia won by 31 runs5:30 AM
Jun 20, MonWEST INDIES vs ZIMBABWEEdgbaston, BirminghamWest Indies won by 10 wickets (with 89 balls remaining)5:30 AM
Jun 20, MonAUSTRALIA vs INDIACounty Ground, ChelmsfordIndia won by 118 runs5:30 AM
Jun 20, MonNEW ZEALAND vs PAKISTANTrent Bridge, NottinghamPakistan won by 11 runs5:30 AM
Jun 20, MonENGLAND vs SRI LANKAHeadingley, LeedsEngland won by 9 wickets (with 215 balls remaining)5:30 AM
Jun 22, WedENGLAND vs INDIAEmirates Old Trafford, ManchesterIndia won by 6 wickets (with 32 balls remaining)5:30 AM
Jun 22, WedPAKISTAN vs WEST INDIESKennington Oval, LondonWest Indies won by 8 wickets (with 68 balls remaining)5:30 AM
Jun 25, SatINDIA vs WEST INDIESLord's, LondonIndia won by 43 runs5:30 AM

1983 World Cup Format

The eight 1983 World Cup teams participating in the tournament were divided into two groups of four teams each. Each team played the other three teams in their group twice in the ‘Group Stage’. The top two teams from each group proceeded to the knockout stage, which consisted of the two semi-finals and the Final.

1983 World Cup

The top-placed team in Group A played against the second-placed team in Group B and vice-versa. Winners of both the semi-finals played the biggest cricket game in every four years on 25 June 1983 at the Lord’s Cricket Ground in London.

Cricket World Cup 1983 Points Table

The Group A consisted of England, Pakistan, New Zealand and Sri Lanka. England Cricket team finished at the top of the table winning 5 games out of 6 and staying clear 8 points ahead of the second-placed side. Pakistan won 3 out of their 6 and finished with 12 points in the Group Stage. New Zealand too had 3 wins out of 6 but were behind Pakistan by a margin of just 0.087 in the Run Rate column.

Sr. No.TeamMatchesWonLostPointsRR
3New Zealand633123.927
4Sri Lanka61543.752

The Group B consisted of eventual winners India, defending champions and eventual runners-up West Indies, Zimbabwe and Australia. The 1983 West Indies Cricket team lost just one game in the Group Stage and topped the group with 20 points. They were followed by India with 4 wins in 6 games, which was 2 more than Australia’s wins.

Sr. No.TeamMatchesWonLostPointsRR
1West Indies651204.308

Also see: 1983 World Cup final scorecard

1983 World Cup Teams

The 1983 Cricket World Cup consisted of 8 teams namely India, West Indies, England, Pakistan, New Zealand, Australia, Sri Lanka, and Zimbabwe.

Watch this video from the 1983 World Cup Final where the India captain in 1983 world cup, Kapil Dev took his iconic catch.


1983 World Cup Winner

The 1983 Indian cricket team stunned the world by beating the dominant West Indies side, which had won both the previous World Cups and was all set to win their third. However, the Kapil’s Devils, as they were known, took the World Cup trophy to India for the first time.

1983 World Cup


1) Who was the highest run-scorer in the 1983 World Cup?

A. England’s David Gower scored 384 runs in 7 matches.

2) Who was the Man of the Series in the 1983 World Cup?

A. There was no Man of the Series award in the first four editions of the World Cup

3) Who was the highest wicket-taker in the 1983 World Cup?

A. India’s Roger Binny was the highest wicket-taker in 1983 with 18 wickets under his belt

4) Who won World Cup 1983?

A. India won their first-ever World Cup in 1983

5) Who hosted the 1983 cricket world cup?

A. Just like the first two editions, England and Wales hosted the 1983 cricket world cup.