Cricket World Cup Winners' Captains List

Last Modified Jul 15, 2019 12:41 IST

We are heading into the twelfth edition of the ICC ODI World Cup in 2019. The ten teams participating in the competition are well balanced and will be fighting over 46 days to decide the champion. It is not easy to separate out the favourites and to predict if we will have a new World Cup winners' captain this time. The last time in World Cup 2015, Australia became winners for the fifth time.

In the 12 editions, England (once), West Indies (twice), India (twice), Australia (five times), Pakistan (once) and Sri Lanka (once) have emerged as the World Cup winners.

Find the detailed list of cricket world cup winning captains list since 1975 below-

World Cup Winners Captains List

2019EnglandEoin Morgan
2015AustraliaMichael Clarke
2011IndiaMS Dhoni
2007AustraliaRicky Ponting
2003AustraliaRicky Ponting
1999AustraliaSteve Waugh
1996Sri LankaArjuna Ranatunga
1992PakistanImran Khan
1987AustraliaAllan Border
1983IndiaKapil Dev
1979West IndiesClive Lloyd
1975West IndiesClive Lloyd

In the first-ever tournament held in 1975 in England, the champion West Indies team, led by Clive Lloyd won all of their 5 matches and marked their dominance in world cricket. They continued their dominance until the next competition. They won all 4 of their completed games in the 1979 Prudential World Cup and lifted the trophy once again.

However, there was a new winner in the 1983 Cricket World Cup. ‘Kapil’s Devils’ as the then Indian team was fondly known, lifted the trophy by beating the defending champions twice, once in the league stage and then in the big Final. The photo of Kapil Dev holding the World Cup in the Lord's balcony inspired a generation of cricketers in India.

The 1987 Cricket World Cup was the first time that it was played outside England. The Aussies led by the legendary Allan Border managed to achieve their first big ICC title in India. Australia lost only one match in the tournament, which lead Allan Border to become third World Cup Winning Captain.

However, they could be the defending champions for only those four years until the next Cricket World Cup arrived. The underdogs Pakistan did not start quite well, winning only 1 of their first 5 matches. They did the unthinkable after that, as they beat the defending champions Australia, Sri Lanka, New Zealand (twice, they played the semi-finals against them too) and then beat England in the Final at Melbourne. Pakistan's emerged as the new winning team as their captain Imran Khan led the team very well and achieved something that was not expected from them at that stage.

For the fourth time in a row, the world saw a new Cricket World Cup winners' captain when Sri Lanka won in 1996. Led by Arjuna Ranatunga, the Lankans displayed their aggressive brand of cricket and won all their matches by big margins. They were awarded the semi-final in Kolkata where the crowd turned violent as India were on the verge of a loss.

The World Cup in 1999 proved to be the first of a hat trick of Cricket World Cup winners for Australia. Steve Waugh’s team won it in 1999 and then Ricky Ponting’s boys won the trophy in 2003 and 2007. From 1999 to 2007, the Australian team was in top form and played their cricket better than any other team in the world.

MS Dhoni added a feather in his cap in 2011 after leading India to their second World Cup victory after a gap of 28 years. The team was really inspired to win it for Sachin Tendulkar, the man who inspired another generation of cricketers that produced players like Virat Kohli.

The champions of 2015 World Cup, Australia, under their captain Michael Clarke beat New Zealand in the Final comfortably by 7 wickets to achieve their fifth World Cup victory.

The Current World Cup Champions, England, won their very first World Cup under the captaincy of Eoin Morgan by defeating New Zealand in a super over on boundary count.

Winning Captain's Press Conference - 2011 ICC World Cup

Also read - Biggest world cup win

Follow Sportskeeda for all the updates on World Cup schedule, points table, news, World cup most runs, live scores, most runs, most wickets and fantasy tips.