Dubai International Stadium

Last Modified Aug 31, 2020 17:59 IST

Dubai International Stadium is one of the three cricket venues, located in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. It is also known by its former name, Dubai Sports City Stadium.

Though, it is a multi-purpose stadium but it is mostly used for cricket and is like second home for Pakistan Cricket Team. It has a capacity of 25,000 seats which can be expanded to 30,000 by placing temporary seating.

The stadium is one of the venues for Pakistan Super League and also hosted matches of Indian Premier League 2014 edition.

Virgo v Sagittarius - Oxigen Masters Champions League 2016


Built in 2009, the stadium hosted its first international fixture when Pakistan took on Australia for the first match of 5-match ODI series on 22 April 2009. Pakistan beat Australia by 4 wickets and became first team to win a game here.

The first Test match was played here between South Africa and Pakistan on 12 to 16 November 2010. The match ended in a draw and Younis Khan was declared Man of the Match for his century in the second innings.

Major Matches

Dubai International Cricket stadium has hosted 11 Test matches since its inauguration. One of them was between Australia and Pakistan, in which Pakistan defeated Australia by 221 runs, making it the biggest victory on this venue in terms of runs.

The stadium has also hosted 23 ODIs till date including some nail-biters. One of the ODIs held on 2 November 2010 between Pakistan and South Africa ended in a thriller as the Proteas won the match by just 2 runs.

Recent Matches

In 2017, the stadium hosted five ODIs, one of which was played between Sri Lanka and pakistan in October. Pakistan won the match by 83 runs.

Last Test match played here was between Sri Lanka and Pakistan on 6 to 10 October 2017. Pakistan lost to visitors in the match by 68 runs. Sri Lanka also won the two match series by 2-0.