⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

3 times the Chennai Super Kings set the IPL auctions on fire

  • The Men in yellow have set the IPL auctions on fire with their record signings over the years. Relive those moments
Ashwan Rao
Top 5 / Top 10
Modified 20 Dec 2019, 15:50 IST


The euphoria surrounding the IPL auctions is just unparalleled. The fans are usually kept at the edge of their seats just like on any match-days until the final bid for a player is won. When Richard Madley, the auctioneer announces the name of a player the excitement and expectations soar high.

In such a carnival-like atmosphere, the Chennai Super Kings- the IPL side with an enormous fan-base has done something noteworthy. They have broken the auction records thrice by buying players for a record sum. Let us now relive those exciting moments.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni (2008)

Mahendra Singh Dhoni
Mahendra Singh Dhoni

When you talk about the IPL, you just cannot miss out on MS Dhoni's staggering records. Be it in the batting, wicket-keeping or captaincy, 'Captain cool' is right there on top. Mahendra Singh Dhoni was easily the most expensive player in the inaugural IPL auctions. His brand value witnessed an enormous surge, after guiding India to a memorable victory in the inaugural ICC World T20 in 2007 in South Africa. The most interesting fact here is that it was his first ever assignment as the captain of Indian cricket team.

All the eight franchise owners were desperate to buy the former Indian skipper. In the end, it was the Chennai Super Kings who bought the charismatic Indian skipper for a then record of INR 6 crore. He led Chennai to the finals in the inaugural season, where they lost to the spirited Shane Warne-led Rajasthan Royals side. The Chennai Super Kings could not have started the IPL on a better note- acquiring Dhoni for a record sum and making it all the way to the finals. Dhoni led Chennai to two titles (2010 and 2011) and is currently the longest-serving IPL skipper. He continues to be the skipper of the Chennai Super Kings in the IPL.

1 / 3 NEXT
Published 05 May 2018, 15:13 IST
Fetching more content...