Most Consecutive Wins in T20 World Cup

Last Modified Oct 07, 2021 10:35 IST

India, Australia, Sri Lanka and England hold the record of most consecutive wins in the ICC T20 World Cup history.

They won six matches consecutively. While India and England managed to become ICC T20 World Cup champions during their winning streak, Australia and Sri Lanka’s streak ended in the finale.

Most Consecutive Wins in T20 World Cup

TeamConsecutive WinsSeason
Sri Lanka62009
South Africa52009

Australia and Sri Lanka jointly hold the record for the most consecutive wins in one edition of the T20 World Cup. Both nations qualified for the ICC T20 World Cup Final undefeated. However, their campaigns ended with a defeat. Sri Lanka accomplished it in 2009 and Australia repeated in 2010.

India was the first nation to record a 6-match winning streak in ICC T20 World Cup history. The Indian cricket team won their Super 8 Match against England on September 19, 2007 and then went on to capture the championship by recording three back-to-back wins next. India then won their first two games of ICC T20 World Cup 2009 against Ireland and Bangladesh. West Indies ended their streak on June 12, 2009 at Lord’s.

England built a 6-match winning streak from 2010 to 2012. The streak began with a win against Pakistan in the Super 8s stage of ICC T20 World Cup 2010 on May 6. They won the next four matches and became the world champions. In 2012, they defeated Afghanistan in their first match before India ended their streak on September 23, 2012 in Colombo.