Write & Earn
Favorites Edit

Ballon d'Or award: Complete list of all Ballon d'Or winners (1956-2015)

9.98K   //    04 Nov 2016, 16:54 IST
ronaldo and messi ballon d or
Ronaldo and Messi have dominated the Ballon d’Or award for the last 8 years

One of the most prestigious individual awards in football, the Ballon d’Or award is an annual association award founded by France Football in 1956 by Sports writer Gabriel Hanot. Also known as the European Football Player of the Year, the Ballon d’Or award was initially restricted to only European footballers till 1995. However, from 1995 all players playing in European clubs were eligible.

Initially, the award was decided by votes from a select group of European journalists, however, in 2007 it was amended to include the votes of players and journalists all over the world. It was merged with the FIFA World Player of the Year in 2009 and called the FIFA Ballon d’Or awarded till 2015.

Also read: Reports - Lionel Messi has beaten Cristiano Ronaldo to the Ballon d'Or award

However, since the Ballon d’Or award is not part of FIFA anymore, there are two award galas to look forward to with Ballon d’Or being conducted by France Football and FIFA awarding the “Best Player of the Year” awards.

This split means that the Ballon d’Or will once again be controlled by the French publication, and voting will be reserved exclusively for journalists in Europe, thereby returning to its initial format while the FIFA Best Player of the Year will be decided by votes from national team coaches, captains, players and fans.

Here is a list of all the Ballon d’Or winners from 1956 to 2015

Year1st Club2nd Club3rd Club
1956Stanley MatthewsBlackpoolAlfredo Di StefanoReal MadridRaymond KopaReal Madrid
1957Alfredo Di StefanoReal MadridBilly Wright


Duncan Edwards & Raymond KopaManchester United & Real Madrid
1958Raymond KopaReal MadridHelmut Rahn


Just FontaineStade de Reims
1959Alfredo Di StefanoReal MadridRaymond KopaReal MadridJohn CharlesJuventus
1960Luis SuarezBarcelonaFerenc PuskasReal MadridUwe SeelerHamburg
1961Omar SivoriJuventusLuis SuarezInter MilanJohny HanesFulham
Dukla PragueEusebio BenficaKarl-Heinz SchnellingerKoln
1963 Lev YashinDynamo MoscowGianni RiveraAC MilanJimmy GreavesTottenham Hotspur
1964Denis Law Manchester UnitedLuis SuarezInter MilanAmancioReal Madrid
1965Eusebio Benfica Giacinto FacchettiInter MilanLuis SuarezInter Milan
1966Bobby CharltonManchester UnitedEusebioBenficaFranz BeckenbauerBayern Munich
1967Florian AlbertFerencvarosBobby CharltonManchester UnitedJimmy JohnstoneCeltic
1968George BestManchester UnitedBobby CharltonManchester UnitedDragan DzajicRed Star Belgrade
1969Gianni RiveraAC MilanLuigi RivaCagliariGerd MullerBayern Munich
1970Gerd MullerBayern MunichBobby MooreWest HamLuigi RivaCagliari
1971Johan CruyffAjaxSandro MazzolaInter MilanGeorge BestManchester United
1972Franz BeckenbauerBayern MunichGerd Muller & Gunter NetzerBayern Munich & Borussia Monchengladbach--
1973Johan CruyffBarcelonaDino ZoffJuventusGerd MullerBayern Munich
1974Johan CruyffBarcelonaFranz BeckenbauerBayern MunichKazimierz DeynaLegia Warsaw
1975Oleg BlokhinDynamo KyivFranz BeckenbauerBayern MunichJohan CruyffBarcelona
1976Franz BeckenbauerBayern MunichRob Rensenbrink AndrelechtIvo ViktorDukla Prague
1977Allan SimonsenBorussia MonchengladbachKevin KeeganHamburgMichael PlatiniNancy
1978Kevin KeeganHamburgHans KranklBarcelonaRob RensenbrinkAndrelecht
1979Kevin KeeganHamburgKarl-Heinz RummeniggeBayern MunichRudd KrolAjax
1980Karl-Heinz RummeniggeBayern MunichBernd SchusterBarcelonaMichael PlatiniSt. Etienner
1981Karl-Heinz RummeniggeBayern MunichPaul BreitnerBayern MunichBernd SchusterBarcelona
1982Paolo RossiJuventusAlain GiresseBordeauxZbigniew BoniekJuventus
1983Michael PlatiniJuventusKenny DalglishLiverpoolAllan SimonsenVejle
1984Michael PlatiniJuventusJean TiganaBordeauxPreben ElkjaerHellas Verona
1985Michael PlatiniJuventusPreben ElkjaerHellas VeronaBernd SchusterBarcelona
1986Igor BelanovDynamo KyivGary LinekerBarcelonaEmilio ButraguenoReal Madrid
1987Ruud GuillitAC MilanPaulo FutreAtletico MadridEmilio ButraguenoReal Madrid
1988Marco van BastenAC MilanRuud GuillitAC MilanFrank RijkaardAC Milan
1989Marco van BastenAC MilanFranco BaresiAC MilanFrank RijkaardAC Milan
1990Lothar MatthausInter MilanSalvatore SchillaciJuventusAndreas BrehmeInter Milan
1991Jean-Pierre PapinMarseille

Dejan Savicevic &

Darko Pancev &

Lothar Matthaus

Red Star Belgrade & Red Star Belgrade &

Inter MIlan

1992Marco van BastenAC MilanHristo StoichkovBarcelonaDennis BergkampAjax
1993Roberto BaggioJuventusDennis BergkampInter MilanEric CantonaManchester United
1994Hristo StoichkovBarcelonaRoberto BaggioJuventusPaolo MaldiniAC Milan
1995George WeahAC MilanJurgen KlinsmannBayern MunichJari LitmanenAjax
1996Mathias SammerBorussia DortmundRonaldo NazarioBarcelonaAlan ShearerNewcastle United
1997Ronaldo NazarioInter MilanPredrag MijatovicReal Madrid Zinedine ZidaneJuventus
1998Zinedine ZidaneJuventusDavor SukerReal MadridRonaldo NazarioInter Milan
1999RivaldoBarcelonaDavid BeckhamManchester UnitedAndriy SchevchenkoAC Milan
2000Luis FigoReal MadridZinedine ZidaneJuventusAndriy SchevchenkoAC Milan
2001Michael OwenLiverpoolRaulReal MadridOliver KahnBayern Munich
2002Ronaldo NazarioReal MadridRoberto CarlosReal MadridOliver KahnBayern Munich
2003Pavel NedvedJuventusThierry HenryArsenalPaolo MaldiniAC Milan
2004Andriy SchevchenkoAC MilanDecoBarcelonaRonaldinhoBarcelona
2005Ronaldinho BarcelonaFrank LampardChelseaSteven GerrardLiverpool
2006Fabio CannavaroReal MadridGianluigi BuffonJuventus



2007KakaAC MilanCristiano RonaldoManchester UnitedLionel MessiBarcelona
2008Cristiano RonaldoManchester UnitedLionel MessiBarcelonaFernando TorresLiverpool
2009Lionel MessiBarcelonaCristiano RonaldoReal MadridXaviBarcelona

Juventus, Milan and Barcelona are the most successful clubs in the awards having had 6 players while Real Madrid are the next most successful club with 5 players.

From 2009, the award was changed to FIFA Ballon d’Or, here are the winners:

Year1st Club2nd Club3rd Club
2010Lionel MessiBarcelonaAndres IniestaBarcelonaXaviBarcelona
2011Lionel MessiBarcelonaCristiano RonaldoReal MadridXaviBarcelona
2012Lionel MessiBarcelonaCristiano RonaldoReal MadridAndres IniestaBarcelona
2013Cristiano RonaldoReal MadridLionel MessiBarcelonaFranck RiberyBayern Munich
2014Cristiano RonaldoReal MadridLionel MessiBarcelonaManuel NeuerBayern Munich
2015Lionel MessiBarcelonaCristiano RonaldoReal MadridNeymarBarcelona

Additional reporting by Vishal JC 

More football news, analysis and features at

Topics you might be interested in:
"Some people think football is a matter of life and death. I don't like that attitude. I can assure them it is much more serious than that."
Fetching more content...