South Asian Games 2019 Football

Football has been a sport at the South Asian Games since it commenced in 1984, and has featured in every edition of the games since then. Men's Football was introduced at the South Asian Games since the inaugural edition in 1984 while Women's Football was only introduced at the 2010 edition held in Dhaka, Bangladesh. The men's competition has been restricted to players’ aged under 23 with three over-aged players allowed in every squad. This change was brought about at the 2004 South Asian Games held in Pakistan, and has been followed since then.

Venue and Dates

For Football South Asian Games 2019, the men’s event will begin on 2nd December and the women's event starts off on the 3rd of December. Men's tournament will take place at the Dasarath Rangasala Stadium, Kathmandu whereas the women will compete at the Pokhara Rangasala, Pokhara.

Performance of major countries

Throughout the history of the South Asian Games football, Pakistan has been the most successful nation with five gold medals in the Men's event. The Indian women's football team have won both the gold medals at the South Asian Games editions (2010 and 2016) so far.

2019 South Asian Games Football

Countries participating in the South Asian Games 2019 Football are -

Men’s - Bangladesh, Bhutan, Maldives, Nepal and Sri Lanka.

Women’s - India, Maldives, Nepal and Sri Lanka.

India’s Women’s Football team at the South Asian Games 2019

Goal-keepers: Aditi Chauhan, E. Panthoi Chanu, M. Linthoinganbi Devi

Defenders: Roja Devi, Jabamani Tudu, Ashalata Devi, Michele Castanha, Sweety Devi, W. Linthoinganbi Devi

Mid-fielders: Ratanbala Devi, Ritu Rani, Sangita Basfore, Sumithra Kamaraj

Forwards: Anju Tamang, Dangmei Grace, Daya Devi, Manisha, Ranjana Chanu, Sandhiya Ranganathan, Bala Devi

Head Coach: Maymol Rocky