Favorites Edit

TN girls Kazima, Rathika lift cadet, sub-junior carrom titles

79   //    05 Jan 2018, 18:42 IST

Mumbai, Jan 5 (PTI) M. Kazima and R. Rathika, both from Tamil Nadu emerged champions, winning the Cadet girls singles and Sub-Junior girls singles crowns respectively in the LIC of India sponsored 44th Sub-Junior National and Inter-State Carrom Championship here today.

In the cadet girls final, M. Kazima (12) brooked no opposition from her statemate S. Abirami who was unable to get going. Kazima quickly got into a rhythm and pocketed the coins with consistent regularity to score a thumping 21-0, 21-0 victory.

Meanwhile, Rathika also came up with a steady performance to dash the hopes of Maharashtra's Shruti Sonawane without much difficulty. Playing confidently the 14-year-old Rathika cruised to a comfortable 15-2, 20-2 triumph.

There was more disappointment for Maharashtra as Nilansh Chiplunkar and Om Taware went down fighting to Uttar Pradeshs Krishnadayal Yadav and Mohammad Areeb of Delhi in the cadet boys singles and sub-junior boys singles finals respectively.

Results: Cadet girls singles Final: M. Khazima (TN) bt S. Abirami (TN) 21-0, 21-0. Third place: Rishita Keshri (UP) bt Saumya Yadav (UP) 4-16, 19-0, 17-2. Semi-finals: M. Khazima (TN) bt Saumya Yadav (UP) 19-4, 21-0; S. Abirami (TN) bt Rishita Keshri (UP) 18-6, 21-4.

Cadet boys singles Final: Krishnadayal Yadav (UP) bt Nilansh Chiplunkar (Mah) 21-2, 8-14, 21-7. Third place: Suraj Gaikwad (Vid) bt Jonathan Bonal (Mah) 16-10, 20-6. Semi-finals: Krishnadayal Yadav (UP) bt Suraj Gaikwad (Vid) 9-8, 21-5; Nilansh Chiplunkar (Mah) bt Jonathan Bonal (Mah) 21-5, 21-7.

Sub-junior girls singles Final: R. Rathika (TN) bt Shruti Sonawane (Mah) 15-2, 20-2. Third place: Mantasha Iqbal (UP) bt A. Rithika (TN) 21-8, 17-0. Semi-finals: R. Rathika (TN) bt Mantasha Iqbal (UP) 7-12, 16-6, 14-9; Shruti Sonawane (Mah) bt A. Rithika (TN) 19-14, 21-0.

Sub-junior boys singles Final: Mohd. Areeb (Dli) bt Om Taware (Mah) 9-7, 13-18, 21-0. Third place: Wakib Iqbal Hussain (Asm) bt R. Sandeep (TN) 15-10, 10-16, 17-12. Semi-finals: Om Taware (Mah) bt Wakib Iqbal Hussain (Asm) 11-2, 18-1; Mohd. Areeb (Dli) bt R. Sandeep (TN) 8-14, 20-2, 14-13

Press Trust of India (PTI) is a news agency in India
Fetching more content...