Celta de Vigo Football


Full NameCelta De Vigo

Nick NameCelta

FoundedCélticos, Celestes


Team Owner(s)Carlos Mouriño

RECENT FIXTURES All Football Fixtures→

Celta Vigo 1 - 1 Girona
Cadiz 1 - 0 Celta Vigo
Celta Vigo 2 - 1 Barcelona

Iago Aspas Spain Left 35
Goncalo Paciencia Portugal Right 28
Jorgen Larsen Norway - 23
Miguel Vidal Spain - 20
Fran Lopez Spain - 21
Pablo Duran Spain - 22
Renato Tapia Peru Right 27
Luca de la Torre USA Right 25
Denis Suarez Spain Right 29
Francisco Beltran Spain Right 24
Oscar Rodriguez Arz Spain - 24
Franco Cervi Argentina Left 29
Augusto Solari Argentina Right 31
Carles Perez Spain Left 25
Gabriel Veiga Spain - 21
Williot Swedberg Sweden - 19
Hugo Alvarez Antunez Spain - 19
Hugo Mallo Spain Right 31
Kevin Vazquez Spain Right 30
Unai Nunez Spain Right 26
Joseph Aidoo Ghana - 27
Javi Galan Spain - 28
Oscar Mingueza Spain Right 24
Carlos Dominguez Caceres Spain - -
Fernando Medrano Spain Left 23
Martin Conde Gomez Spain - 20
Iván Villar Spain Right 25
Agustin Marchesin Argentina Right 35
Coke Carrillo Spain - 21

Celta Vigo History

Real Club Celta de Vigo, popularly known as Celta Vigo or Celta is a professional football club based in the northwestern corner of Spain, Galicia. Celta Vigo plays in La Liga, the top tier of Spanish football. The name of the club “Celta de Vigo”, came from the Celtic roots present in Galicia.

Celta Vigo was founded in 1923 by the merger of 2 clubs, Real Vigo Sporting, and Real Fortuna Football Club. Both these teams were from Vigo, Galicia and they were merged together to compete better at the European level. Celta Vigo has always played in sky blue shirts and the colour is inspired by their Galician flag.

Celta Vigo came to be known as the “Giant Killers” in the 1970-71 season and was undefeated at home. The club’s best ever position in La Liga is 4th and they achieved that in the 2002-03 season.

Celta Vigo’s club records are:

  1. Most League goals - 70, Hermidita
  2. Most League appearances - 432, Manolo
  3. Most goals in a season - 69, (1998–99)
  4. Biggest Win - 10-1
  5. Biggest Loss - 10-0
  6. Biggest Signing - €13.5 million, Catanha, Málaga (2000)
  7. Biggest Sale - €18 million, Nolito, Manchester City (2016)

Celta Vigo Manager - Fran Escribá

Club Atletico de Madrid v Villarreal CF - La Liga

Fran Escribá is the manager of Celta Vigo since March 2019. The former Spanish played youth football with Valencia but never played professional football. He joined Celta Vigo mid-season and was their third manager of the 2018-19 campaign after the sacking of both former managers, Antonio Mohamed, and Miguel Cardoso.

Celta Vigo Stadium - Estadio Municipal de Balaídos

RC Celta de Vigo v Southampton - Pre Season Friendly

Celta Vigo’s home stadium is Estadio Municipal de Balaídos, also known as Abanca-Balaídos. It was opened in 1928 after 3 years of construction and is located in Vigo, Galicia, Spain. The stadium has a capacity of 29,000 seats and FIFA World Cup group stage matches in 1982 were held here.

Celta Vigo Logo

The logo is inspired by something very Galician, which is the Cross of Saint James, also called the Santiago Cross. The logo consists of a sky blue shield with 2 C’s written on it. The colour of the shield is inspired by Galicia’s flag and the 2 C’s represent “Club Celta”.

The club also uses a crown on the top of the shield in its logo because they were granted patronage by the Spanish crown and were entitled to use the royal crown on their logo in 1923.

Celta Vigo President

Manuel Carlos Mouriño Atanes is the president and owner of Celta Vigo. The Spanish-Mexican businessman is the major shareholder of the club with 35% stake. Atanes acquired his shares back in 2006 and is the club president since then.

Celta Vigo Nickname

Celta Vigo has been given various nicknames by the Spanish supporters and fans. They are known as Célticos (The Celts/Celtics), because of the Celtic roots present in their region. Their sky blue shirts have given them the nickname Celestes (The Sky Blues). Celta Vigo is also nicknamed as O Celtiña (The Lovely/Little Celta).

Celta Vigo Trophies

Celta Vigo Segunda Division Titles (3)

S. No.Segunda Division TitlesRunner-Ups
11935-36Real Zaragoza
31991-92Rayo Vallecano

Fetching more content...