Haryana Steelers


Full NameHaryana Steelers

Nick NameThe Steelers


GroundMotilal Nehru School of Sports, Rai

Team Owner(s) Jindal South West (JSW) Group

Prominent PlayersSurender Nada, Prashant Kumar Rai, Vikash Khandola


Haryana Steelers is an Indian professional kabaddi team that plays in Pro Kabaddi League. The team is based in the city of Sonipat, Haryana. The team plays their home matches at the Motilal Nehru School of Sports, Rai, Sonipat which has a seating capacity of 2000.

Haryana Steelers is led by star defender Surender Nada, who has won the inaugural season of PKL with U Mumba and was also the part of the Indian team which won the 2016 Kabaddi World Cup. The team is coached by veteran Ranbir Singh Khokhar, who has more than 35 years of coaching experience. He is the current coach of Indian national team and was also the coach of the Indian team which won the gold medal at 1990 and 2014 Asian Games.

Haryana Steelers is one of the four teams introduced in 2017 season of Pro Kabaddi League alongside Gujarat Fortune Giants, UP Yoddha and Tamil Thalaivas in order to make the League more widespread, interesting and competitive.


The team is owned by JSW Sports, a part of the multi-billion dollars conglomerate, Jindal South West (JSW) group. They are also the owners of former I-League champions and ISL side Bengaluru FC and are renowned for the contribution towards the development of sports in India.

JSW Sports runs a variety of sports programs. The most popular of them is the Sports Excellence Program (SEP), the flagship endeavour of the company.

Trajectory in the PKL

The debut season for the team in 2017 was a mixed success. The Steelers managed to finish at the third place in their zone. The team’s journey ended after their loss to eventual champions Patna Pirates in the eliminator.

The team would be eyeing to better their performance in the coming seasons and to get to the coveted trophy.

Prominent Achievements

The team managed to finish at 6th position in the 2017 season of PKL. The team showed good potential will be a strong title contender in the coming season provided they are able to work upon the areas where they fell short.

Low Points

The major problem which the team faced was the inability to perform as a unit. Their loss against Patna Pirates exposed their defence’s dependency on Surender Nada as they performed abysmally in his absence in the second half of the match.

Team Players

Player NamePriceCountryPosition
Kuldeep SinghRetained Elite PlayerIndianDefender
Vikash KhandolaRetained Elite PlayerIndianDefender - Left Cover
VinayNew Young PlayerIndianRaider
Prashanth Kumar RaiRs 77 lakhIndianRaider
Dharmaraj Cheralathan (Captain)Rs 38.5 lakhIndianDefender - Right and left corner
Ravi KumarRs 20 lakhIndianDefender - Right cover
Amir Mohammad MalekiRs 12.5 lakhIraniRaider
Tim PhonchooRs 10 lakhThaiAll-Rounder
Vikas KaleRs 34.25 lakhIndianDefender - Right cover
Selvamani KRs 16.5 lakhIndianRaider
NaveenRs 33.5 lakhIndianRaider
Subhash NarwalRs 6 lakhIndianDefender - Left Cover
Vikram KhandolaRs 10 lakhIndianRaider
Parveen-IndianDefender - Left Cover
Sunil-IndianDefender - Right Corner
Arun Kumar HN-IndianRaider

Major Players for the PKL 2019

Under the new captaincy of Dharmaraj Cheralathan, the team has seen new players as well. This season new team members like category A player, Prashant Kumar Rai who was previously in Dabbang Delhi will be joining Haryana for this season.

The duo of a Prashant Kumar and Vikash Khandola under the captaincy of Dharmaraj Cheralathan, can bring new strategies and game play with experienced execution on the ground.

In raiding department we have Amir Hossain Mohammad joining Haryana Steelers this season. For Right cover defense we have Ravi Kumar and Vikas Kale and Dharmaraj Cheralathan as right and left cover defender.

YearMatches PlayedWinsLostTieWin %Final Result
201723136456.526th Place
201822612227.276th Place
201923139169.230769235th Place

Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now