San Diego Padres


Full NameSan Diego Padres

Nick NameThe Pads


GroundPetco Park

Team Owner(s)Peter Seidler



The San Diego Padres are a baseball team based out of San Diego, California. They are a member club of the National League (NL) West Division in Major League Baseball. The club was founded in 1969. That minor league franchise won the PCL title in 1937, led by 18-year-old Ted Williams, the future Hall-of-Famer who was a native of San Diego. The team's name, Spanish for "fathers", refers to the Spanish Franciscan friars who founded San Diego in 1769. The club has won two NL pennants- in 1984 and 1998. The Padres along with the Los Angles Angels are the two teams that originate from the state of California. They are also know as the “The Pads”, “The Friars”, and the “Slam Diego Padres.”

The Pads


Petco Park

San Diego Padres: History

The Padres joined the ranks of Major League Baseball in 1969 as one of four new expansion teams, along with the Montreal Expos (now the Washington Nationals), the Kansas City Royals, and the Seattle Pilots (now the Milwaukee Brewers). The Padres have won five National League West titles and have reached the World Series twice, in 1984 and in 1998. They lost both times however. The Padres are fondly called the “Slam Diego Padres” because they became the first team in MLB history to hit a grand slam in four consecutive games.

San Diego Padre’s in the Recent Years

The San Diego Padres won five National League West titles and reached the World Series twice, in 1984 and in 1998. The Padres' main draw during the 1980s and 1990s was hall of famer Tony Gwynn, who won eight league batting titles. They moved into their current stadium, Petco Park, in 2004.

On April 9, 2021 Joe Musgrove threw the first no-hitter in franchise history against the Texas Rangers. The no-hitter also broke a streak of having gone 8,205 games without throwing one, a major league record. The Padres entered the 2021 season expecting to contend for the World Series and held a playoff position in the Wild Card standings from April to late August. The Padres struggled down the stretch after reaching a season high 66-49 record, going 13-34 the rest of the way. The Padres were eliminated from playoff contention on September 25 and finished the 2021 season with a 79-83 record.

San Diego Padres Team Awards

San Diego Padres Post Season History

YearWild Card NLDS NLCSWorld Series
1984NoneNoneChiacago Cubs W (3-2)Detroit Tigers L (1-4)
1996NoneSt. Louis Cardinals W (3-1)
1998NoneHouston Astros W (3-1) Atlanta Braves W (4-2) New York Yankees L (0-4)
2005NoneSt. Louis Cardinals L (0-3)
2006NoneSt. Louis Cardinals L (1-3)
2020St. Louis Cardinals W (2-1) Los Angeles Dodgers L (0-3)

Current San Diego Padres Roster - MLB 2022

Pitchers Catchers Infielders Outfielders
Mike Clevinger Jorge AlfaroJosh Bell Jose Azocar
Yu Darvish Luis Campusano Jake Conenworth Trent Grisham
Sean Manaea Austin Nola Brandon Drury Wil Myers
Joe Musgrove Ha-Seong Kim Luis Liberato
Blake Snell Manny Machado Juan Soto
Luis Garcia Jurickson Profar
Tim Hill
Pierce Johnson
Nick Martinez
Adrian Morejon
Craig Stammen
Robert Suarez
Steven Wilson
Josh Hader

Owner: Peter Seidler

Home Stadium: Petco Park

Manager: Bob Melvin

Bench Coach: Ryan Christenson

Pitching Coach: Ruben Niebla

Hitting Coach: Michael Brdar

Catching Coach: Francisco Cervelli

Batting/Hitting Instructor: Morgan Burkhart

Quality Control: Ryan Flaherty

Bullpen: Ben Fritz

Coaching Assistants: Justin Novak and Heberto Andrade

Senior Advisor: Bryan Price

Third Base: Matt Williams

Fetching more content...