5 Best No. 17 Entries in the Royal Rumble

The Royal Rumble has been a staple of the WWE's PPV calendar since 1988
The Royal Rumble has been a staple of the WWE's PPV calendar since 1988
Edan Nissen

A big part of the Royal Rumble is made up of time, with competitors often having to last an hour in the ring as each year's Royal Rumble match gets longer and longer. While early Royal Rumbles could finish within a 30-minute time frame, these days the Royal Rumble generally lasts over an hour. Despite only having 20 competitors, Jim Duggan's win in 1988 wasn't the shortest time in the Royal Rumble for a winner. Nor does it belong to one of the competitors who won it from the number 30 spot. The shortest ring time for the winner belongs to Edge who came in at entry 29 and won the Royal Rumble within 7 minutes and 37 seconds.

On the other end of the scale, Rey Mysterio had to battle for 1 hour, 2 minutes and 12 seconds in order to win the 2006 Royal Rumble. Mysterio holds the record for the longest participation in the Royal Rumble. He beat the record set by Chris Benoit 2 years earlier when he won the 2004 Royal Rumble with a time of 1 hour, 1 minute and 31 seconds. They are 2 wrestlers of only 6 that have managed to pass the hour mark in the Royal Rumble. The others are Ric Flair, Chris Jericho, Triple H, and Bob Backlund. While six wrestlers have crossed the hour barrier, only Rey, Benoit and Flair have crossed the hour mark and won the Royal Rumble.

You can see the other entries in this series below:

Part 1 is here; Part 6 is here; Part 11 is here; Part 16 is here

Part 2 is here; Part 7 is here; Part 12 is here

Part 3 is here; Part 8 is here; Part 13 is here

Part 4 is here; Part 9 is here; Part 14 is here

Part 5 is here; Part 10 is here; Part 15 is here

1 / 6 NEXT
Edited by Israel Lutete
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now