Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

8 times WWE championships changed hands without the champion losing

  • Sometimes, the champion never loses when his belt finds a new owner.
Top 5 / Top 10
Modified 20 Dec 2019, 06:42 IST
Seth Rollins cashed in his Money in the Bank briefcase for the WWE World Heavyweight Championship at WrestleMania 31.

Generally speaking, professional wrestling titles change hands when a challenger pins the champion or gets the champion to tap out, but that isn’t always the case. Sometimes, the belt moves from one man to another without the champion actually losing.

Now, within the script, champions who lose in Triple Threat matches or other such stipulations claim to have never lost, but that could be perceived as a technicality. Here are eight times where WWE belts changed hands when the champion didn’t actually take a loss at all.

Mr. Perfect takes advantage

Mr. Perfect made the best of an opportunity when Ultimate Warrior had to relinquish the Intercontinental Championship.

When the Ultimate Warrior toppled Hulk Hogan for the WWF Championship at WrestleMania 6, it created a conundrum. Due to the rules of the company at that time, no wrestler could hold more than one title at once, so Warrior had to drop his Intercontinental Championship.

That led to a tournament to crown a new Intercontinental Champion, and Mr. Perfect made the best of it. He took down Tito Santana for the belt on an episode of WWF Superstars and held on to it for the next 126 days.

1 / 8 NEXT
Published 27 Mar 2016, 20:07 IST
Fetching more content...