New User posted their first comment

1983 World Cup

The Cricket World Cup began in 1975 in England with Prudential Assurance Company being the primary sponsor of the tournament. It is an event played every four years in the ODI format of the game. The Australian cricket team has achieved the biggest success with as many as 5 World Cup titles to their name followed by West Indies and India with two each. West Indies won the first-ever edition and England are the defending champions after winning the latest edition in 2019.

Table Of Contents

  1. 1983 World Cup History
  2. 1983 World Cup Format
  3. Cricket World Cup 1983 Points Table
  4. 1983 World Cup Teams
  5. 1983 World Cup Winner
  6. FAQs

1983 World Cup History

The 1983 World Cup was the third edition of the 50-over tournament contested by all the Test playing nations joined by a few minor countries. It found a new winner apart from the two-time champions West Indies, with Kapil Dev and his men lifting the trophy at Lord’s. It was the final edition with ODIs played for 60 overs rather than 50. Two groups of four teams each started the tournament which consisted of 27 matches played over 17 days in the month of June.

1983 World Cup Format

The eight teams participating in the tournament were divided into two groups of four teams each. Each team played the other three teams in their group twice in the ‘Group Stage’. The top two teams from each group proceeded to the knockout stage, which consisted of the two semi-finals and the Final.


The top-placed team in Group A played against the second-placed team in Group B and vice-versa. Winners of both the semi-finals played the biggest cricket game in every four years on 25 June 1983 at the Lord’s Cricket Ground in London.

Cricket World Cup 1983 Points Table

The Group A consisted of England, Pakistan, New Zealand and Sri Lanka. England Cricket team finished at the top of the table winning 5 games out of 6 and staying clear 8 points ahead of the second-placed side. Pakistan won 3 out of their 6 and finished with 12 points in the Group Stage. New Zealand too had 3 wins out of 6 but were behind Pakistan by a margin of just 0.087 in the Run Rate column.

Sr. No.TeamMatchesWonLostPointsRR
3New Zealand633123.927
4Sri Lanka61543.752

The Group B consisted of eventual winners India, defending champions and eventual runners-up West Indies, Zimbabwe and Australia. The West Indies Cricket team lost just one game in the Group Stage and topped the group with 20 points. They were followed by India with 4 wins in 6 games, which was 2 more than Australia’s wins.

Sr. No.TeamMatchesWonLostPointsRR
1West Indies651204.308

1983 World Cup Teams

The 1983 Cricket World Cup consisted of 8 teams namely India, West Indies, England, Pakistan, New Zealand, Australia, Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe.

1983 World Cup Winner

Indian cricket team stunned the world by beating the dominant West Indies side, which had won both the previous World Cups and were all set to win their third. However, the Kapil’s Devils, as they were known, took the World Cup trophy to India for the first time.


1) Who was the highest run scorer in 1983 World Cup?

A. England’s David Gower scored 384 runs in 7 matches.

2) Who was the Man of the Series in 1983 World Cup?


A. There was no Man of the Series award in the first four editions of the World Cup

3) Who was the highest wicket taker in 1983 World Cup?

A. India’s Roger Binny was the highest wicket-taker in 1983 with 18 wickets under his belt

4) Who won World Cup 1983?

A. India won their first-ever World Cup in 1983

5) Who hosted the 1983 cricket world cup?

A. Just like the first two editions, England and Wales hosted the 1983 cricket world cup.

Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now