Favorites Edit

Hyderabad IPL team named Sun Risers

Akshy Sridhar
5.57K   //    18 Dec 2012, 17:20 IST

Hyderabad team will be called as Sun Risers

The Hyderabad IPL team, that was bought by Sun TV Network, has been named as Sun Risers. The Board of Control for Cricket in India terminated the previous team Deccan Chargers and in the auction in October, Sun TV bought the team.

The Sun Network, owned by the Maran brothers, put in the highest bid of 85.05 crores per year for a five year deal, pipping PVP Ventures, who offered 69.03 crores. The team was initially bought by Deccan Chronicle for 562 crores in 2008.

The new owners of the franchise decided to retain a team of 20 players, including the likes of  Kumar Sangakkara, Dale Steyn, JP Duminy and Cameron White.

Topics you might be interested in:
Akshy Sridhar
An ardent Indian cricket fan who knows some football and tennis. Considers Rahul Dravid as his idol; loves Roger Federer and Manchester United!
Fetching more content...