ICC Champions Trophy Winners

Last Modified Jun 21, 2021 09:52 IST
YearHost Nation(s)WinnerRunner-upResultPlayer of TournamentHighest run scorerHighest wicket taker
1998BangladeshSouth AfricaWest IndiesSouth Africa won by 4 wicketsJacques KallisPhilo Wallace (221 runs)Jacques Kallis (8 wickets)
2000KenyaNew ZealandIndiaNew Zealand won by 4 wicketsNot awardedSourav Ganguly (348 runs)Venkatesh Prasad (8 wickets)
2002Sri LankaSri Lanka and IndiaNoneIndia and Sri Lanka declared joint winners Not awardedVirender Sehwag (271 runs)Muttiah Muralitharan (10 wickets)
2004EnglandWest IndiesEnglandWest Indies won by 2 wicketsRamnaresh SarwanMarcus Trescothick (261 runs)Andrew Flintoff (9 wickets)
2006IndiaAustraliaWest IndiesAustralia won by 8 wicketsChris GayleChris Gayle (474 runs)Jerome Taylor (13 wickets)
2009South AfricaAustraliaNew ZealandAustralia won 6 wicketsRicky PontingRicky Ponting (288 runs)Wayne Parnell (11 wickets)
2013England and WalesIndiaEnglandIndia won by 5 runsShikhar DhawanShikhar Dhawan (363 runs)Wayne Parnell (12 wickets)
2017England and WalesPakistanIndiaPakistan won by 180 runsHasan AliShikhar Dhawan (338 runs)Hasan Ali (13 wickets)

The Champions Trophy is an ODI cricket tournament organised by the sport’s world governing body International Cricket Council (ICC). It was inaugurated in 1998 as the ICC KnockOut Tournament and the name was later changed to the Champions Trophy in 2002.

India v Pakistan - ICC Champions Trophy Final

South Africa, India, Pakistan, Australia, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, West Indies and England have been the prominent teams participating in the tournament. They were joined by few associate countries or non-test playing nations like Bangladesh, Kenya, Netherlands, United States and Zimbabwe till 2006.

However, since the 2009 edition, only top eight ranked teams are eligible to play in the tournament.

Chris Gayle (791 runs) of West Indies has the most runs by any batsman in this tournament, followed by Mahela Jayawardene (742 runs) of Sri Lanka and Shikhar Dhawan (701 runs) of India.

Also Read : Highest total chased in world cup

Among all, Shikhar Dhawan (101.59) has the highest strike-rate, while Nathan Astle (145*) and Andy Flower (145) hold the record for the highest individual score of the tournament, which they made against the United States in 2004 and against India in 2002, respectively.

Kyle Mills (28 wickets) of New Zealand has picked up the most number of wickets in the history of the tournament. He is followed by Lasith Malinga (25 wickets) and Muttiah Muralitharan (24 wickets), both from Sri Lanka.

Muralitharan’s 3.60 is the lowest economy of the tournament. Farveez Maharoof (6/14) of Sri Lanka and Josh Hazelwood (6/52) of Australia hold the record of best bowling figures in an innings, which they made against West Indies in 2006 and against New Zealand in 2017 respectively.

App download animated image Get the free App now