India vs Pakistan Head to Head - T20 World Cup

Last Modified Oct 23, 2022 18:38 IST

India vs Pakistan head-to-head stats is 6-1, where India won 6 times and Pakistan has won only a single T20 World Cup match against India.

Here is the table of all encounters between India and Pakistan in the T20 World Cup:

WinnerMarginOppositionGroundVenueMatch DateToss
India4 wicketsv PakistanMCGMelbourne23 OCT 2022Won
Pakistan10 wicketsv IndiaDubaiDubai24 Oct 2021won
India6 wicketsv PakistanKolkataIndia19 Mar 2016won
India7 wicketsv PakistanDhakaBangladesh21 Mar 2014won
India8 wicketsv PakistanColomboSri Lanka30 Sep 2012lost
India5 runsv PakistanJohannesburgSouth Africa24 Sep 2007won
Indiatiedv PakistanDurbanSouth Africa14 Sep 2007lost

IND vs PAK T20 World Cup - 2022

India has finally avenged the loss of its T20 World Cup 2021 defeat against Pakistan. In a thrilling game, India has beaten Pakistan by a margin of 4 wickets. Virat Kohli finished as the top scorer and guided his side to win in the first game of the T20 World Cup 2022. Now, IND vs PAK Head-to-Head stats goes to 6-1 when it comes down to the T20 World Cup event.

IND vs PAK T20 World Cup - 2021

India had a clean record against Pakistan in the shorter format World Cup until 2016. But, Pakistan has finally managed to grab their maiden win over Men in Blue in the mega-event. They have beaten Team India for the first time at Dubai International Cricket Ground in Dubai by 10 wickets. The Men in Green managed to grab a clinical victory over Team India in the group-stage match of the T20 World Cup 2021.

Also see: T20 World Cup 2021 India schedule | T20 World Cup Pakistan schedule

IND vs PAK T20 World Cup - 2016

Pakistan top-order set a slow pace to the game after being put in to bat in a rain-shortened game. The top 3 accounted for 50 runs in 66 balls, thus putting the side onto the backfoot. Umar Akmal (22 off 16) and Shoaib Malik (26 off 16) took Pakistan to 118/5 in their 18 overs. The Indian batting also looked hazy at the start with the score reading 23/3 in less than 5 overs. However, Virat Kohli took charge of the game with a quickfire 55 not out off 37 balls. This is the game where he bowed down to his idol Sachin Tendulkar in the stands after getting to a half-century.

Watch the match highlights here:


IND vs PAK T20 World Cup - 2014

India won the toss and elected to bowl first. Umar Akmal (33 off 30) and Ahmed Shehzad (22 off 17) were the major contributors for the side with four of the top six batsmen had a strike rate under 100. Amit Mishra bowled brilliantly and had figures of 4-1-22-2 as Pakistan managed to score only 130 runs in their 20 overs. Shikhar Dhawan (30 off 28), Virat Kohli (36* off 32) and Suresh Raina (35* off 28) batted sensibly to ensure there were no upsets.

Indian pacer Mohammad Shami debuted in this game at Dhaka and picked the wicket of the highest contributor for the opponents.

IND vs PAK T20 World Cup - 2012

A one-sided game in Colombo saw the Indians chase down 129 with 8 wickets in hand. Pakistan T20 squad won the toss and chose to bat first. A few of their batsmen got starts but nobody converted them into big ones. A stop-start innings for them saw them getting bundled out for 128. Gautam Gambhir fell in the very first over of the second innings and it was all about Indian batting post that. Virat Kohli (78* off 61) was well supported by Virender Sehwag (29 off 24) and Yuvraj Singh (19* off 16) as they won with 3 overs to spare.

IND vs PAK T20 World Cup - 2007 (Final)

This game, or maybe its result, is credited for the creation of the world’s richest T20 league. India beat Pakistan in the final of the inaugural edition of the T20 World Cup in South Africa in 2007, and the Indian Premier League (IPL) began in 2008. Let’s go through how the victory was stitched by a first-time captain, MS Dhoni.

India won the toss and elected to bat first. Opener Gautam Gambhir stepped up when it mattered the most and compiled a stroke-filled 75 in just 54 balls. An important unbeaten knock of 30 runs off 16 balls from the young Rohit Sharma helped immensely as the eventual champions put on 157 on the board in their 20 overs. Pakistan came out all guns blazing but kept losing wickets at regular intervals. RP Singh was the star bowler with figures of 3/26 in his quota of 4 overs. Misbah-ul-Haq kept Pakistan in the hunt and almost took them over the line. His famous scoop against Joginder Sharma was caught at fine leg by S Sreesanth and we had the first-ever World T20 champions at the Bull Ring.

Watch the match highlights here:


IND vs PAK T20 World Cup - 2007 (Group stage match)

Second tied international match in the history of T20 cricket. India faced Pakistan in the 10th match of the tournament in Durban and the game saw Misbah-ul-Haq faltering in the end for the first time in that competition. India batted first, piled on 141/9 with the help of Robin Uthappa’s 39-ball 50 and were ready for the defense. They pretty much had Pakistan down on the mat in under 9 overs with the score reading 47/4. Misbah scored a half-century but got run out on the final delivery with the scores tied.

The tournament had a rule of bowl-out with players from each team bowling balls at the stumps without a batsman on the crease. India hit their first three while Pakistan missed all three, thus deciding the best of 5 bowl-out in favour of India.

Watch the match highlights here:


Who won most matches in IND vs PAK T20 World Cup?

India has won the most number of matches against Pakistan with a stat of 6-1.