Favorites Edit

IPL 2018: Swashbuckling openers in each IPL team

Mohit Kalra
Top 5 / Top 10
1.13K   //    06 Apr 2018, 16:00 IST

Related image
Chris Gayle is the most ferocious opening batsman in IPL history

The 2018 edition of the Indian Premier League is about to kick off on 7th of April but who all are going to start off for their teams? The aggression at the top is a key feature of the modern-day cricket, especially the T20 cricket.

In IPL as well, the franchises prefer to have a flashy batsman at the top, who can provide the initial momentum & win games single-handedly for them. Players like Chris Gayle, Virender Sehwag, Adam Gilchrist, Matthew Hayden, Brendon McCullum, Sanath Jayasuriya, Dwayne Smith, and others have done it in the past.

Let us have a look at the opening stroke players for each franchise in the upcoming edition of the cash-rich league.

Shane Watson (Chennai Super Kings)

Related image
Only player to win the 'most valuable player award' twice in the IPL

The big Australian all-rounder was a part of Rajasthan Royals since the first season until the misfortune happened and his franchise got a two-year suspension following the 'far-reaching implications.'

Shane Watson won the 'Man of the Tournament' award in RR's maiden title triumph in 2008, for scoring 472 runs and picking up 17 wickets. No other cricketer has been able to replicate this kind of performance till now.

In 2016, the Queenslander was roped in by Royal Challengers Bangalore for gigantic ₹ 9.5 crores, which was the highest for that season. In 2018 IPL player auction, Watto was acquired by CSK for ₹ 4 crores.

IPL Career:

Inns - 102 | Runs - 2622 | SR - 138.66 | HS - 104

1 / 8 NEXT
Topics you might be interested in:
Mohit Kalra
Fetching more content...